Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hytanium
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:10 pm

MPLS and VLAN help

Thu Jan 21, 2010 6:52 am

I am testing 2 rb411ah boards with R52N cards.

We used the wiki set-up for a MPLS / VPLS transparent bridge. We are using arc dual pole antennas and can achieve 100Mbps UDP test and 55Mbps TCP on the bench. We are very happy with the results using MPLS! We want to replace our current 22 Km WDS Bridge with this Bridge using MPLS and hopefully have simular results. I can't seem to figure out how to transparently bridge and get my Vlans to pass through. I just want to use MPLS for the wireless bridge portion. Here is what we want to do, but I can't seem to get my config right. I had created a vlan with a value of 2 on the ethernet and added it to the bridge on both boards... this didn't work.

switch<=> vlan-id's <===>eth1<===>>411ah<===>MPLS Wireless Bridge<===>411ah<===>eth1<===>vlan-id's<=>switch

I'm not sure what to do. Thanks!
 
Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: MPLS and VLAN help

Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:02 pm

If you want to transparently forward everything (including VLAN tagged packets) over VPLS link, you do not have to create any VLAN interfaces - simply bridge ethernet with VPLS interface.
 
hytanium
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:10 pm

Re: MPLS and VLAN help

Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:17 pm

Great!

I did manage to get it to work... I created vlan's on each end of the interface. I will try removing the vlans and give it a shot.

One thing I did notice is that testing bandwidth from RB to RB I was getting 60Mbps TCP.
Soon as I used btest from PC to PC on ethernet of the links I am getting more like 25Mbps TCP. Any ideas why I am losing so much??

I am loving MPLS over the WDS bridging!
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: MPLS and VLAN help

Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:22 am

Just a guess but it could be that MPLS MTU setting is lower than the resulting MPLS packets (which leads to fragmentation of the MPLS packets).
Move along. Nothing to see here.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests