Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Metalspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 06, 2010 2:59 pm

Hello . I want to create a LAN network between me and 2 friends.
I have the following setup :
3 Routerboards :

Station1 -------> <--------------- My RB (Ap) --------------> <------------------- Station2

Station1 has its own antenna for the AP and so does Station2
Here is my setup scripts

AP

# --configure wireless access point--
/interface wireless
set wlan1 disabled=no ssid=MPLS frequency=5180 band=5ghz mode=bridge

# --configure IP--
/ip address
add address=172.16.0.1/30 interface=wlan1

# --enable LDP--
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.0.1 transport-address=172.16.0.1
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=wlan1

# --configure VPLS tunnel--
/interface vpls
add name=vpls1 remote-peer=172.16.0.2 vpls-id=1:1 disabled=no

# --add bridge and bridge ports --
/interface bridge add name=bridge1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=vpls1

station

# --configure wireless access point--
/interface wireless
set wlan1 disabled=no ssid=MPLS band=5ghz mode=station

# --configure IP--
/ip address
add address=172.16.0.2/30 interface=wlan1

# --enable LDP--
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.0.2 transport-address=172.16.0.2
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=wlan1

# --configure VPLS tunnel--
/interface vpls
add name=vpls1 remote-peer=172.16.0.1 vpls-id=1:1 disabled=no

# --add bridge and bridge ports --
/interface bridge add name=bridge1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=vpls1









-------------------------------------------------------OK Link 2 ------------------------------------------------------------


AP





# --configure wireless access point--
/interface wireless
set wlan2 disabled=no ssid=MPLS band=2.4ghz-b/g mode=bridge

# --configure IP--
/ip address
add address=172.16.0.5/30 interface=wlan2

# --enable LDP--
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.0.5 transport-address=172.16.0.5
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=wlan2

# --configure VPLS tunnel--
/interface vpls
add name=vpls2 remote-peer=172.16.0.6 vpls-id=2:2 disabled=no

# --add bridge and bridge ports --
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=vpls2





2nd Station

# --configure wireless access point--
/interface wireless
set wlan1 disabled=no ssid=MPLS band=2.4ghz-b/g mode=station

# --configure IP--
/ip address
add address=172.16.0.6/30 interface=wlan1

# --enable LDP--
/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=172.16.0.6 transport-address=172.16.0.6
/mpls ldp interface
add interface=wlan1

# --configure VPLS tunnel--
/interface vpls
add name=vpls1 remote-peer=172.16.0.5 vpls-id=2:2 disabled=no

# --add bridge and bridge ports --
/interface bridge add name=bridge1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=vpls1

When i setup the first link everything works fine, but as soon as i add the second set of commands i can only access my 2nd friends network.
From what i can see is that the routing protocols pick up a loop in the network (Don't know how ???) but i get that one is designated and the other disabled. I can't remember where I read that, but if some one can perhaps help me with this matter I will appreciate it!.
Thanks in advance
 
hans0
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:57 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:10 pm

Why on ap there is two hosts network mask ?
 
Metalspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:46 pm

Because i have 2 wireless lan cards connecting the two . Should i try and put them on the same network ?
 
hans0
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:57 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:24 pm

Because i have 2 wireless lan cards connecting the two . Should i try and put them on the same network ?
Of course NO!
But SSID for all wlan devices is this same.
Are you sure that your clients are connected to different AP?
Sorry but your configuration dump is quite hard to read cause is incomplete.
Try to make all configuration as easy as it is possible:

St1----------------------Ap_wlan1|AP_wlan2--------------------St2


SSID Link1 SSID Link2
net: 172.16.0.0/30 | 172.16.0.4/30
ip:
172.16.0.2/30 172.16.0.1/30 | 172.16.0.5/30 172.16.0.6/30
routing:
on St1: add to 172.16.0.4/30 via 172.16.0.1/30
on St2: add to 172.16.0.0/30 via 172.16.0.5/30

after this if you can ping every host form each other start with MPLS
Add LDP interfaces : wlans on all routers.
Not sure but I increase MTU of every interface on which ldp labels are supposed to be going through.
In your case set mtu for all wlans to 1522.
Next set other things about MPLS.
Check LDP neighbors.
Set vpls tunnels
Bridge to ethernet on endpoints and finish.
 
Metalspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:03 pm

Ok thanks for the quick reply, going to redo the network in about 2 hours and check if i can fix it via your method.
 
Metalspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:25 pm

Ok I have redone everything. Same problem as before: One vpls's role is :"Disabled port" in the bridge->Port . Can any1 shed some light on what goes wrong where ?



Image
 
Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:19 pm

please post output of the following commands on all involved devices:

/ip address print
/ip route print
/mpls local-bindings print
/mpls remote-bindings print
/interface vpls print
 
Metalspawn
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Sat Jul 10, 2010 6:03 pm

Ap Settings :

[admin@MikroTik] > ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; default configuration
192.168.0.6/24 192.168.0.0 192.168.0.255 ether1
1 172.16.1.1/24 172.16.1.0 172.16.1.255 wlan1
2 172.24.200.209/28 172.24.200.208 172.24.200.223 ether1
3 172.24.200.66/27 172.24.200.64 172.24.200.95 WUG
4 172.16.0.5/30 172.16.0.4 172.16.0.7 Brandon-Micholl

[admin@MikroTik] > /ip route print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 A S 172.16.0.0/12 172.24.200.65 1
1 ADC 172.16.0.4/30 172.16.0.5 Brandon-Micholl 0
2 ADC 172.16.1.0/24 172.16.1.1 wlan1 0
3 ADC 172.24.200.64/27 172.24.200.66 WUG 0
4 ADC 172.24.200.208/28 172.24.200.209 bridge1 0
5 ADC 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.6 bridge1 0

[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls local-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - advertised, D - dynamic,
L - local-route, G - gateway-route, e - egress
# DST-ADDRESS LABEL PEERS
0 ADLe 172.24.200.208/28 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
1 ADLe 172.16.0.4/30 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
2 ADLe 192.168.0.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
3 ADLe 172.24.200.64/27 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
4 ADLe 172.16.1.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
5 ADG 172.16.0.0/12 17 172.16.1.2:0



[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls remote-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic
# DST-ADDRESS NEXTHOP LABEL PEER
0 D 192.168.88.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
1 D 172.16.1.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.2:0
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface vpls print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, D - dynamic,
B - bgp-signaled, C - cisco-bgp-signaled
0 name="vpls2" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:F4:BD:B4:95:F6
arp=enabled disable-running-check=no remote-peer=172.16.0.6
vpls-id=2:2 cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 advertised-l2mtu=1500
pw-type=raw-ethernet

1 R name="vpls1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:53:53:BF:8B:04
arp=enabled disable-running-check=no remote-peer=172.16.1.2
vpls-id=1:1 cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 advertised-l2mtu=1500
pw-type=raw-ethernet


Station1 (working one)
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; default configuration
192.168.88.1/24 192.168.88.0 192.168.88.255 ether1
1 172.16.1.2/24 172.16.1.0 172.16.1.255 wlan1
[admin@MikroTik] > /ip route print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 ADC 172.16.1.0/24 172.16.1.2 wlan1 0
1 ADC 192.168.88.0/24 192.168.88.1 bridge1 0

[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls local-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - advertised, D - dynamic,
L - local-route, G - gateway-route, e - egress
# DST-ADDRESS LABEL PEERS
0 ADLe 192.168.88.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.1:0
1 ADLe 172.16.1.0/24 impl-null 172.16.1.1:0

[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls remote-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic
# DST-ADDRESS NEXTHOP LABEL
0 D 172.24.200.208/28 impl-null
1 D 172.16.0.4/30 impl-null
2 D 192.168.0.0/24 impl-null
3 D 172.24.200.64/27 impl-null
4 D 172.16.1.0/24 impl-null
5 D 172.16.0.0/12 17
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface vpls print

Flags: X - disabled, R - running, D - dynamic,
B - bgp-signaled, C - cisco-bgp-signaled
0 R name="vpls1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:51:DD:7C:3B:11
arp=enabled disable-running-check=no remote-peer=172.16.1.1
vpls-id=1:1 cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 advertised-l2mtu=1500
pw-type=raw-ethernet


Station 2 (Disabled Port)

admin@MikroTik] > /ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; default configuration
172.0.0.5/24 172.0.0.0 172.0.0.255 ether1
1 172.16.0.6/30 172.16.0.4 172.16.0.7 wlan1
2 192.168.0.8/24 192.168.0.0 192.168.0.255 ether1

[admin@MikroTik] > /ip route print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 ADC 172.0.0.0/24 172.0.0.5 bridge1 0
1 ADC 172.16.0.4/30 172.16.0.6 wlan1 0
2 ADC 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.0.8 bridge1 0

[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls local-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - advertised, D - dynamic,
L - local-route, G - gateway-route, e - egress
# DST-ADDRESS LABEL PEERS



[admin@MikroTik] > /mpls remote-bindings print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic
# DST-ADDRESS NEXTHOP LABEL PEER

[admin@MikroTik] > /interface vpls print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running, D - dynamic,
B - bgp-signaled, C - cisco-bgp-signaled
0 name="vpls1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=1500 mac-address=02:12:27:A7:3E:18
arp=enabled disable-running-check=no remote-peer=172.16.0.5
vpls-id=2:2 cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 advertised-l2mtu=1500
pw-type=raw-ethernet
 
Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: Help with MPLS please

Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:59 am

From your config I understand that you are trying to establish 2 vpls tunnels, one between station1 and AP and second between station2 and AP. Is that correct? In this case please post VPLS config on AP also.
Additionally - there are no any LDP bindings on station 2. This tells that most likely you do not have LDP enabled there or it is not establishing adjacency with AP. Please post all LDP and VPLS related config of AP and station 2.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests