Community discussions

 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:22 am

Dear friends!

Is it possible to put dynamic PPPoE interfaces to specific VRF. For example, my internet table lies in vrf-internet, but newly created PPPoE interfaces are all in main routing table after creation.
God bless UNIX!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:05 am

It is not possible at the moment, you need to add static pppoe entries in server list and then add them manually to vrf
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:16 am

It is not possible at the moment, you need to add static pppoe entries in server list and then add them manually to vrf
Oh... sounds very catastrophic for me... But could you please explain your statement in more detail. Sorry, but I don`t understand the procedure...
God bless UNIX!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:55 am

/pppoe server add name=client1 ...
/ip route vrf add routing-mark=test inteface=client1
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:30 am

/pppoe server add name=client1 ...
/ip route vrf add routing-mark=test inteface=client1
Thanks... understood. It is not so perfect for dynamic interfaces and pppoe aggregation services. But can I use some sort of script? Does ROS have tool set for changing routing table for interface in near online timescale?
God bless UNIX!
 
User avatar
alexcherry
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Mon Aug 18, 2014 9:52 am

Hi guys, I want to update this old topic.
We have quite big MPLS network and we started to work with Internet VRF, so we are putting PPPoE interfaces there manually.
The problem at the moment is that in Winbox we can add only 30 interfaces to the VRF, in terminal it accepts more.
Adding additional interface in terminal to VRF is complicated, because we have to enter all interfaces and then add a new one.

The question to Mikrotik support is if this limitation of 30 interfaces in Winbox will not cause some problems ?
 
User avatar
alexcherry
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:01 pm

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:42 am

Update: Limitation on amount of interfaces in VRF is 30, if we put more pppoe interfaces to VRF in terminal, PPPoE server/VRF will start become strange, so we are moving to DHCP now
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: How to put dynamic interfaces to specific VRF

Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:34 am

I know this post is an old one and I had hoped Mikrotik would have resolved or increased this limit by now.

I have run in to the same issue when adding GRE interfaces to a VRF with a VLAN. One can't add more than 30 through Winbox, but one can through the CLI. It seems even adding more than this value through the CLI it breaks.

I hope this limit can be increased as 30 interfaces in a VRF is very small.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 3 guests