Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
w4rh0und
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:58 pm

Pxe Boot over multiple subnets

Wed May 18, 2011 10:24 pm

Hi


I have a problem at one of my clients...


I have a Mt router with 3 independant subnets:

in ether1 - is connected the pxe server with ip 192.168.0.2
in ether2 - there is a unmanaged switch with for subnet 192.168.2.0/24
in ether3 - there is a unmanaged switch with for subnet 192.168.3.0/24

Is there a way for the workstations in the 192.168.2.0/24 and 192.168.3.0/24 to reach the pxe server? Unfortunately i cannot use vlans since the switches and without management.

I know in cisco i can use the ip-helper command to do this, but i can't find on mikrotik wiki anything except dhcp-relay, but will that do or i have to enable something else as well for the workstation to take their image from the pxe server???

Thank you
 
blake
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Pxe Boot over multiple subnets

Thu May 19, 2011 3:21 am

Assuming dhcp2 is for the 192.168.2.0/24 subnet
/ip dhcp-server
set dhcp2 bootp-support=dynamic

/ip dhcp-server option
add name=pxe-server code=66 value=192.168.0.2

/ip dhcp-server network
set [find address="192.168.2.0/24"] dhcp-option=pxe-server
Haven't tested this. But option 66 should be BOOTP 'next-server' so it should work.
IT consultant. Network manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6284
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Pxe Boot over multiple subnets

Thu May 19, 2011 11:24 am

/ip dhcp-server network there you can add same next-server option, and do not need to do that through /ip dhcp-server option menu.
 
w4rh0und
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:58 pm

Re: Pxe Boot over multiple subnets

Thu May 19, 2011 5:48 pm

Ty alot i will give it a try and let you know how it went :)
 
blake
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Pxe Boot over multiple subnets

Thu May 19, 2011 6:19 pm

/ip dhcp-server network there you can add same next-server option, and do not need to do that through /ip dhcp-server option menu.
Good to know. Thanks!
IT consultant. Network manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nicolaviale and 10 guests