Community discussions

 
User avatar
astounding
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:17 am

Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:35 am

Hi,

I've got three RB411AH devices, all of them running 5.6. One is an AP, the other two are wireless clients. They are doing WDS bridging. For administrative purposes, they all belong to a /29 network. They are each running OSPF and the /29 network and the wds (on the AP) and wlan (on the clients) interfaces (well actually the bridge interfaces) are configured as part of a NSSA area. The AP has a default route, and the AP's OSPF instance is configured to distribute the default route, if it is up, as a type-1 LSA into OSPF.

Things work great, for 10 to 20 minutes. The default route in question shows up everywhere it should. Then suddenly the two client devices vanish from the management net. Not really--but the OSPF default route disappears from the two clients' routing tables, even though it still exists and is active on the AP. And when I do /routing ospf route print on the AP, the default route appears there normally too. But when I do either /ip route print or /router ospf route print on either of the clients, there is no default route.

If I login to the AP and make an OSPF change, for example if I set the LSA type for the default from type 1 to type 2, then log out, the default route magically reappears on the two clients as a type 2 LSA for about 10 to 20 minutes, then vanishes.

Any ideas?

Wondering,
Aaron out.

From one of the clients (their configurations are identical except the router ID):
# aug/08/2011 18:20:39 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 6GCP-ATT8
#
/routing ospf instance
set default disabled=no distribute-default=never in-filter=ospf-in metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=20 \
    metric-default=1 metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 metric-static=20 name=default out-filter=ospf-out \
    redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no \
    redistribute-static=no router-id=10.0.0.3
/routing ospf area
set backbone area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
add area-id=1.0.0.1 default-cost=1 disabled=no inject-summary-lsas=yes instance=default name=mynssa \
    translator-role=translate-candidate type=nssa
/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=supercoolpwdhere authentication-key-id=1 cost=10 dead-interval=10s \
    disabled=no hello-interval=2s instance-id=0 interface=bridge1 network-type=ptmp passive=no priority=1 \
    retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
/routing ospf network
add area=mynssa disabled=no network=10.0.0.0/29
And the AP:
# aug/08/2011 18:23:28 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 2VIB-Z889
#
/routing ospf instance
set default disabled=no distribute-default=if-installed-as-type-1 in-filter=ospf-in metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=\
    20 metric-default=1 metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 metric-static=20 name=default out-filter=ospf-out \
    redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no \
    redistribute-static=as-type-1 router-id=1.0.0.1
/routing ospf area
set backbone area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
add area-id=1.0.0.1 default-cost=1 disabled=no inject-summary-lsas=yes instance=default name=mynssa \
    translator-role=translate-candidate type=nssa
/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=supercoolpwdhere authentication-key-id=1 cost=10 dead-interval=10s \
    disabled=no hello-interval=2s instance-id=0 interface=bridge1 network-type=ptmp passive=no priority=1 \
    retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s use-bfd=no
/routing ospf network
add area=mynssa disabled=no network=1.0.0.0/29
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:18 am

Looks like a bug - that shouldn't happen in a stable OSPF AS. I've configured an RB750G and an RB433 (that's all I have available - no 411s here) running 5.6 in a similar fashion with the 433 being joined to area 0.0.0.1 on a RB750G port, area 1 being an NSSA. I've configured memory debugging for 'ospf,!raw', so if it goes away overnight there'll be some details.

Have you emailed support yet?
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:09 pm

No isssues whatsoever on 5.6 between a 750G and a 433 - just the usual flooding every 30 minutes, default route is still present on the router in the NSSA.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1886
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:21 pm

Not sure if this helps but i had a ospf route disappearing every few seconds and it was caused by a dublicate ip address on the network which was originally setup on a standby router as a test for VAP config but forgot to remove?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
bss
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:36 am

I have exactly the same issue. The route just disappears. I was able to log it - i have posted the log file below.
I have disabled the BGP instance at Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 to simulate network outage so that router xxx.xxx.0.51 lost its local default route:
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Age prematurely: flushing LSA
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Installing an LSA
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     old=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Adding to neighbor's retransmit list
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     neighbor=xxx.xxx.0.50
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     number of retransmits=1
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Adding to neighbor's retransmit list
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     neighbor=xxx.xxx.0.48
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     number of retransmits=1
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Adding to neighbor's retransmit list
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     neighbor=xxx.xxx.0.9
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     number of retransmits=1
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Deleting an LSA
Sep/12/2011 17:13:19 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.51 seqnum=0x80000001
It should get the default route from xxx.xxx.0.50 (also xxx.xxx.0.1) but it doesn't. It does if i do it in 10-15 minutes after OSPF restart, but after a while it just "forgets" about the default route from xxx.xxx.0.1:
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: LSA Update received: Installing and flooding it
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     header=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000021
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Installing an LSA
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000021
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     old=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000020
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Adding to neighbor's retransmit list
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000021
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     neighbor=xxx.xxx.0.48
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     number of retransmits=5
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Adding to neighbor's retransmit list
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000021
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     neighbor=xxx.xxx.0.9
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     number of retransmits=5
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug: Deleting an LSA
Sep/12/2011 17:08:05 route,ospf,debug ospf_debug:     lsa=AS-External LSA id=0.0.0.0 originator=xxx.xxx.0.50 seqnum=0x80000020
The strange thing is that xxx.xxx.0.50 (or xxx.xxx.0.1) has its default route and also shows it in the LSA and Routes.

Best regards!

PS: both of the routers are RB1200 running the latest - 5.6.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
bss
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:35 am

This issue is still present, it happens every time the router is left alone for more than half an hour.

I have done some more investigating and monitored the LSA. The LSA is present from router xxx.xxx.0.50 (xxx.xxx.0.1), but when router xxx.xxx.0.2 looses its BGP default route, no route is installed, but the LSA is present. I think this is some kind of bug in OSPF implementation. I would be more than ready to help debug this issue, if you could provide me with instructions. Should I also drop support@mikrotik.com a message?

I'm looking forward in resolving this issue:)

Best regards!
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:37 am

Should I also drop support@mikrotik.com a message?
Definitely.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
blake
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:53 am

Does anyone have any update on this? I have routers running 4.11, 5.4, 5.7, and 5.8 which all experience this.
IT consultant. Network manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:46 am

i have same problem
every 30 minutes router loosing route to other connection.
it occurred when i had setup loopback for OSPF router-id.

here is topology:
Image

router A losing route to router B but still occurs in B's neighbors list.
No routes advertised from A to B... no routes saved from B on A

I should have loopback on OSPF for router id. i forgot about this in the beginning untill i saw this thread
Plus i should have loopbacks becouse without them my scheme is not working and my scheme is BGP based VPLS topology. Simply without loopbacks i can't extend branches from routers (clouds on pic). only directly connected routers working and caring traffic via VPLS. otherwise if i try to add some router through existing one. VPLS goes up, has "DRB" status but it cant caring traffic from one end of vpls to second

here is my original thread http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 09#p290309
MTCNA
 
tyronzn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Durban,South Africa
Contact:

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:54 pm

+1

I've had the same problem since version 5.4,already running latest 5.8 but problem still persists,interestingly only on some of my wireless links,the others are identical setups except for ip address assignment obviously.

I've always configured NBMA neighbors which is what Mikrotik suggested i do but it was already long configured that way.Only conclusion is that there is a bug in ospf,waiting patiently for the next release which resolves this painful issue.
 
Ascii
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:15 pm
Location: Quito, Ecuador

Re: Disappearing Default Route in OSPF

Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:30 am

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest