Community discussions

 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Hello
We have local and overseas traffic.
overseas traffic are provided by two isp, isp1 50 mbps and isp2 30mbps we want to make load balancing over this two isp for 1000 users.
Also if its possible at same time we want to make fault tolerance.

Can someone tell us how to configure router?
Thank you
 
tws101
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:03 pm

We have many guides for this.

http://aacable.wordpress.com/2011/07/27 ... t-by-zaib/

Give it a try and report back with issues.
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:35 pm

Hello
Thank youforyourhelp.
But will this work for BGP, our clients have public ips and we have bgp connection to each isp.
Thank you
 
Luth
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:04 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:00 pm

We have many guides for this.

http://aacable.wordpress.com/2011/07/27 ... t-by-zaib/

Give it a try and report back with issues.
Our friend shrek give public ip address to users so, from his core router have bgp session with two upstream provider.
The problem is that this upstreams have different bandwith capacity so, if I understand, he would like to use "priority" the upstream with more bandwith and secondary as automatic recovery.

I think that there isn't a simple solution to the problem for the nature of bgp protocol becouse it use for its decision many paramiter but not bandwtih limit of upstreams. Where goes traffic depend olso of peering agreements that have your upstreams. If the upstream with less bandwith is more interconnected with other AS I suppose that have more chanche to became preferred way for many of your packet :-(

I have a similar scenario in a production enviorment and my first upstream with upper bandwith is interconnected only to one bigger AS, my second upstream have many peers interconnected.

To "solve" the problem I have used the BGP prepend paramiter in the tab BGP action of Route filter tab (the filter applays to second upstrem).
I'm not a BGP expert and this workaround, in my scenario, was operated by a collegue with more experience.

I would like to know opinions from other expert on this forum.

best regards
Luciano Talarico
TLCWEB Srl - Italy
Visit Mikrotik topics on our Linux by Myself website at linuxbms.com
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:23 am

Hello
Any help?
Thank you
 
MikroTikIQ
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:04 am

Hi..

I would like to help as Im not experienced in BGP ... but I do have same scenario in my ISP..


So.. could you please draw your connectivity topology

Also if you have any previus config could please export it here so I can understand more about you topology


Also I would to to agree with Luth!!! about BGP mostly use for Upstream and also fail over as well..

See the Below Diag of My network maybe its can help you..
I distribute the traffic to my customer manually.... but the link is already full redundant I my ISP1 go down my IP will forwarded to my Second IP and vise verse for second IP..!!

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:11 pm

Thank you for helping
I have two bgp connection world outside of our country and about ten bgp connections in our country.
One overseas traffic is 20 mbps and other 80 mbps.
I want to make load balancing and fault tollerance.
If its possible it will be great.
ThNk you
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:57 pm

Hello
Any one can help?
Thank you
 
MikroTikIQ
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:56 pm

Hi..

Please see this PDF... its will be help full for you..http://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/AE12/ali.pdf

Also its possible to do fault tolerance.... but you need to create two route object for two different IP subnet at RIPE for example..
Then start advertise this two subnet through your Upstream provider..

each subnet should to advertise twice.. for i.g. first subnet through ISP1 and set as preferred route and ISP2 and back router and for second subnet same..

this action can be done via BGP action at /routing filter adding prefix attribute one our advertisement like copy the as_path bye using prepand action.. to priorities one link over another.. or you can use weight and local_pref..


Hope its can be help full

Ali Sami
________________________
MikroTik Authorize trainer
MTCNA-MTCTCE-MTCWE-MTCRE-MTCINE
 
nmaton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:31 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:56 pm

Hi Ali,


Thanks for your information and slides.
I'm currently configuring 2 mikrotik routers which both have a 1 BGP uplink to 2 different providers.
Whats the best way to accomplish this?

Thanks !
Nicolas Maton
nicolasmaton@gmail.com

CCNA/ CCDA
MTCNA / MTCTCE

Available for Mikrotik Consulting
 
MikroTikIQ
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:50 am

Hi Shrek


I would like to ask you how many ISP you are connected to..?? in total 4 ISP.. or you have connection to for each ISP.. like dual Multi homed BGP..?


And how my IP Range you have..? or if you have single Range what is the subnet /21 /22... ?

Please see attached pic ..
Also answer to see how we can have plan for you ISP..!!

Ali.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
shrek777
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:44 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:36 am

Hello
Thank you for your help
We have two isp and /21 network
on both isp we have 50 mbps on each
 
bijoo75
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 11:52 am

Re: BGP Load Balancing two gateway

Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:28 pm

i am not sure whether you received an answer for this.

what you can do is aadvertising /21 to Both ISPs and
advertise one /22 to one ISP and another /22 to the second ISP.

you can filter your advertisements through route filters.
( Routing -> Filters )


REgards,

Biju

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests