Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
elujayrulz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:30 am

dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Fri Jul 06, 2012 1:56 pm

Case:I have a RouterBoard RB450 with 5 ports.
Ether 1: interface name VSAT, has a 1mbps link with IP. Address 83.229.126.17/29
Ether 2: interface name Fibre, has a 5mbps link with IP. Address 78.138.59.74/30
(The ip address at the teleport is 78.138.57.63/30)
Ether 3: interface name LAN, has the users directly connected with IP. Address 192.168.0.1/24.

I need a mechanism that will implement BGP between the router Ether 2 ( Fibre interface) and the teleport, in addition I need a static route with higher administrative Value so as long as the Ether 2 (Fibre) is up the BGP is up and all traffic route through it. But when BGP goes down with Ether 2(fibre) down. The static route take priority and all traffic are routed through the Ether11(VSAT). Kindly, let me know how go about configuring this thank you.
 
MikroTikIQ
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:42 pm

Re: dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:12 pm

Hi..

I would to ask you r u obligate to use the BGP... protocol..???

Its can be done via netwatch tool..!!

Ali.
 
elujayrulz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:30 am

Re: dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:52 pm

Thanks what my ISP standard, if u can tell me another methods and step by step to configure I would be glad. Thanks
 
elujayrulz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:30 am

Re: dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:26 pm

Thanks, but that's what my ISP requested me to do, but anyway if you can provide me full details on alternative methods apart from pinging an internet IP and using two routes with the default route with lower administrative cost while the backup route. With higher administrative cost. Thank you
 
elujayrulz
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:30 am

Re: dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:56 pm

My ISP wants me to use BGP for the first link and static route for the second link. Thank you and the net watch tool, how do I configure it ?thank you
 
gabeselig
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 3:52 am

Re: dual WAN failover using BGP and static route on 1 LAN

Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:56 pm

# 10.0.0.1 is my directly connected IP address neighbor for the default route to the internet.
# 172.16.0.1 is an IP address out on the internet that I want to get to only from the provider.
# If the address above goes down, I will disable the "Default Routes" routes and follow the other default route
# in the OSPF network.


/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] redistribute-static=as-type-1
/ip route
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=1.0.0.0/8 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=2.0.0.0/7 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=4.0.0.0/6 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=8.0.0.0/5 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=16.0.0.0/4 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=32.0.0.0/3 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=64.0.0.0/2 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment=NetWatch disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=172.16.0.1/32 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
add comment="Default Routes" disabled=no distance=1 dst-address=128.0.0.0/1 gateway=10.0.0.1 scope=30 target-scope=10
/tool netwatch
add disabled=no down-script=":log info \"Main Gateway Down\"; \r\
\n/ip route set [find comment=\"Default Routes\"] disabled=yes" host=172.16.0.1 interval=1m timeout=1s up-script=\
":log info \"Main Gateway Up\"; \r\
\n/ip route set [find comment=\"Default Routes\"] disabled=no;\r\
\n"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests