Page 1 of 1

ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:40 am
by syadnom
Anyone have any advice/fix for OSPF NSSA areas being rediculously unstable?

I have a VPN cloud with a mix of PPTP over ipsec and SSTP over 45 sites. I have 2 core routers (VPN target) and I have 2 tunnels on each remote router, one for each core router. I also have some site-2-site VPN connections. I use a single OSPF stub to make routing easy.

I want to change these links to nssa because I have a number of other subnets that are not part of the OSPF area and stub zones can't import these. unfortunately nssa isnt stable. my links come up but then go down in a very short cycle.

Any known issues or known fixes?

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:33 am
by samsung172

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:17 am
by syadnom
No exactly. Also, that thread is for RouterOS 3.10 while I'm up on 5.18. The last post does fit my issue though.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:20 am
by samsung172
This issue still occur in 5.18. its nothing different. ( I have not tried 6.X beta, but dont want to try in production)

also se http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=34170

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:20 pm
by syadnom
Can someone from Mikrotik chime in here? Seems like nssa is completely non-functional.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:45 am
by mrz
Yes, there are known problems with NSSA. Problems will be fixed in new routing package.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:31 pm
by syadnom
Yes, there are known problems with NSSA. Problems will be fixed in new routing package.
Thanks mrz. Can you give us any info on when to expect this routing package? in 5.x or will it wait for 6?

I am in need of this and it is causing a bunch of manual routing for my having only stub areas to work with and also, I can't extend my backbone which is a hassle.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:58 am
by mrz
new routing will be available only in v6.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:40 pm
by syadnom
new routing will be available only in v6.
mrz, excuse me if this is in an obvious place. Is there a v6 roadmap? With planned features and release targets?

Also, I can't find anything but forum posts about this nssa issue, it would be nice if it were documented somewhere, maybe the wiki.

Thanks

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:13 pm
by syadnom
resurrection! :)

mrz, can you provide any update here? v6 has been in the wild for a while, but I can't see much info on the OSPF nssa issue. I have almost 100 routers on v5.x and I'm stuck with stub areas until there is a solution to this nssa problem. Thanks

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:14 pm
by syadnom
I would add that I don't see a 'new routing' package and I don't know of the routing package in 6rc13 etc etc is 'new routing'

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:33 pm
by syadnom
any update here, it's been a long time and these forums are completely lacking on 'new routing' or anything like that for v6 which is out in the wild now. Do NSSA areas work properly?

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:48 pm
by mrz
We have done some fixes in v6. These chenges fixed also some known problems with NSSA.
You can try v6.1 and see if it works in your setup.

Re: ospf NSSA extremely unstable while stubs are great

Posted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 6:13 pm
by czuniga
good morning

mrz i have a problem i have some mikrotik with two WAN working with ospf nssa, i use diferent cost in the interface by example 500 in one, 250 in the other. the problem star when i just configure the router and the OSPF everything work good but dasy after that i see and the traffic download by one interface and upload for the other, i have a lot of mikrotik with the same problem and i put some the bandwidth int one of the interface and the traffic download and upload for the other wan