Community discussions

 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

OSPF Design consideration

Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:57 pm

Hello
Attached is found a diagram of my network.

From each "Area" we have a network 172.16.x.0/24 (where area 2 has 2.0; area 3 has 3.0 etc)

All traffic, some from area 2 and some from area 3 will go out through FW (FW1 or FW2)
Actually everything works.
We have OSPF running between backbone and the towers.


The CORE AREA (area 1001 and 1002) has some problems.
From the tower I am not able to reach 10.0.1.1 or 10.0.2.1, the core routers, BTW.
All devices are MT with 5.22.

What do you think about this setup?

I will ask you some info about VRRP+OSPF that is giving me problems, but later!

I will attach some confs:

FW1:
/routing ospf area
add area-id=10.0.1.0 name="Core RA"
/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] redistribute-connected=as-type-2 router-id=172.16.0.241
/routing ospf interface
add interface="ether2 - Backbone Spadhausen" network-type=broadcast
add interface="ether6 - Core RA" network-type=broadcast
/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=172.16.0.0/23
add area="Core RA" network=10.0.1.0/28


FW2:

/routing ospf area
add area-id=10.0.2.0 name="Core Mezzano"
/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] redistribute-connected=as-type-2 router-id=\
172.16.0.68
/routing ospf interface
add interface="ether5 - Backbone Spadhausen" network-type=broadcast
add interface="ether2 - Core Mezzano" network-type=broadcast
/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=172.16.0.0/23
add area="Core Mezzano" network=10.0.2.0/28
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:17 pm

eheheh when some "complex" setup comes in, no one is going to post anything about it? :)
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:56 pm

Check if 10.0.1.0/28 route is distributed through the backbone to all areas.
 
User avatar
guilhermeramires
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:06 pm

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:42 pm

How many routers do you have? Probably its not necessary to create too many areas.
You also need to tells us each area types. Its all default or there is some stub area?
Mikrotik Training Partner
MPLS for the Masses
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:09 am

if i remember correctly area 1001 and 1002 cannot be used to route traffic if they are non backbone
so try just using area 0 in place
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:13 am

eheheh when some "complex" setup comes in, no one is going to post anything about it? :)
don't you wish to help him ?
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:21 pm

Hello.

I have a router in each area because there I do routing, simple queue, firewall filter (no nat), just routing.
When I add a block of users in a specific geografic zone (I translated that in OSPF AREA #).
We are WISP and each tower is a OSPF area, and a specific subnet.
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
mespinos
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 2:50 pm
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:41 pm

How many routers do you have? Probably its not necessary to create too many areas.
You also need to tells us each area types. Its all default or there is some stub area?
I think so. You are using an area for any network block. You could have all your network in a backbone area. Nowadays, you don't have more than 20 routes in your table. Later, if your network grows, add more areas.

Tell us if you've stub areas.
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:39 pm

Hello
all areas are now default type
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator,
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 529
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Fri Jan 11, 2013 2:43 am

I have 50+ routers. 1 area. OSPF carries 550+ routes. Works nicely.
 
robertpenz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:41 am

Re: OSPF Design consideration

Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:46 pm

Yeah, I would also use only one area for this small setup. Remove the complexity!!

>500 routers in one area is no problem today ... Use areas to separate devices with bad ospf implementations from the rest. E.g. loadbalancers or mainframes

Or for security reasons ( you want all traffic over some special routers/firewalls )

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests