Community discussions

 
User avatar
fcucci
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 am
Location: Italy

OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:43 am

Hi all,
On my network I have enabled OSPF and MPLS to create some VPLS tunnels to traverse two or more routers and carry the PPPoE clients connection vs. my Core Router.
If I use only one OSPF area, the VPLS tunnels come up and work regularly. If on each site, where are the AP, I create another OSPF area, those VPLS Tunnels came up but don’t carry Layer2 frames and the PPPoE connections don’t work.

Have someone any idea on this issue; it is a routeros bug or my misconfiguration ?

Thank you in advance
Francesco Cucci
MTCNA-MTCRE-MTCTC-MTCINE Certified
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:14 pm

hello

are you using te tunnels or ldp
if te tunnels you can only use one ospf area and cannot cross multi ospf area

a+
Thierry
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
fcucci
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 am
Location: Italy

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:55 pm

Hello Thierry,

thank you for your answer.

I am using LDP tunnels not TE . Why don't cross the OSPF areas ?
Francesco Cucci
MTCNA-MTCRE-MTCTC-MTCINE Certified
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:06 pm

te tunnels are using rsvp ( no need for ldp ) and carry bandwidth information through ospf
which cannot go across different area

a+
Thierry
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:41 pm

If CSPF is not used then you can run RSVP on any amount of areas.
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:55 pm

If CSPF is not used then you can run RSVP on any amount of areas.
do you mean that there is no need to select an area for MPLS TE area in OSPF instance
if you are not using CSPF and do only path with loose or static hops
how bandwidth information and priority will be exchanged ?
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:23 pm

Yes exactly, you can even run TE tunnel over statically routed network. No need for OSPF.
 
User avatar
wulfgard
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:29 pm

Yes exactly, you can even run TE tunnel over statically routed network. No need for OSPF.
ok thanks i never use it that way may be because always using CSPF for backup routes with Fast Re Route which is not available in RouterOS
System and Network Engineer
Mikrotik Trainer - MTCNA MTCRE
Official French Mikrotik Distributor
 
User avatar
fcucci
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 am
Location: Italy

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:17 pm

Thanks to all,
as I said in previous post, in our network I’m enabled LDP protocol and setup (on AP) VPLS Tunnels to travers some routers and arrive to my PPPoE concentrator; well, if I cross more than one OSPF area, the VPLS tunnel come up on both side, but with /ip neighbor discover I can view the router only from one side and not from the other hand; accordingly the mac ping don't work.

Any other ideas to give me ?

Thank you.
Francesco Cucci
MTCNA-MTCRE-MTCTC-MTCINE Certified
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:24 pm

Try to set MPLS MTU to 1500 on all routers running LDP.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:53 am

In Order to make vpls Work with ospf areas you need to ensure that you DON'T summarize the Routers loopback/ldp/Transport address.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:53 am

In Order to make vpls Work with ospf areas you need to ensure that you DON'T summarize the Routers loopback/ldp/Transport address.
 
User avatar
fcucci
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:31 am
Location: Italy

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:05 am

I didn't understand, explain me better,

thank you.
Francesco Cucci
MTCNA-MTCRE-MTCTC-MTCINE Certified
 
fabsoft
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:28 am

Im' experiencing the same problem.
i want to establish a VPLS tunnel between 2 router une in backbone area and other in a (totally)stub area.
The tunnel goes up but not the traffic.
MPLS distribution is LDP, no summarize prefix.
Any advice to resolve this problem ?
thanks in advance.
 
fabsoft
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:40 pm

update:
if ospf area is stub, then external route are not labelled in mpls forwading table.
the only way i've managed to get it working is to use a default ospf area.
 
pospanko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:23 pm

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:53 am

Any changes on this? Does VPLS tunnels work somehow in Totally stub areas?
thx
Internet, Mikrotik & Network solutions
http://www.pro-ping.hr
 
markey
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:37 pm

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:47 pm

Hi all
I was having the same problem and I managed to fix it after reading this post.
What happens is that for communication between the VPLS tunnels, each router must have listed in its routing table the ip of the router on the other side of the tunnel. Within a stub area or in this OSPF summarizes the backbone routes in the default route.

I resolved by manually adding a destination route to the other side of the tunnel in the routing table of the router within the area.

Some member had mentioned this solution above, but it had not been so clear.

I hope I have helped.
 
sadiq007
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:59 am

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:04 am

Dear Markey,
Please explain in details as in diff stub OSPF area eoip tunnel is working ok but vpls is not working, unable to ping vpls IP (umable to find remote vpls IP mac)
 
sadiq007
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:59 am

Re: OSPF Areas and MPLS VPLS Tunnels

Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:33 am

It's working now.
So for MPLS vpls bet's two different stub OSPF area- instead default route, we need to add a static route in each router for remote Router on which you want to make vpls tunnel.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests