Community discussions

 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:48 am

Hi, Just wondered if anybody has experience what kind of RB board could handle BGP multihoning with up to three providers routing a /24 or possibly 2 x different /24 ?

We have in use quite a few rb1200 and some rb450g on smaller sites which generally route a /24 each statically.

Looking into BGP multi honing these routers and thinking maybe from reading that more memory may be needed for the routing tables than these boards have? Or is that not the case if using filters? Presumably the internet table has to be stored regardless of what your routing your side? and I have read that can be as much as 300mb?

Any experience much appreciated.
 
Luth
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 4:04 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:11 pm

Hi, Just wondered if anybody has experience what kind of RB board could handle BGP multihoning with up to three providers routing a /24 or possibly 2 x different /24 ?

We have in use quite a few rb1200 and some rb450g on smaller sites which generally route a /24 each statically.

Looking into BGP multi honing these routers and thinking maybe from reading that more memory may be needed for the routing tables than these boards have? Or is that not the case if using filters? Presumably the internet table has to be stored regardless of what your routing your side? and I have read that can be as much as 300mb?

Any experience much appreciated.
You need an hardware with at least 1 GB Ram, this becouse your upstream provider will send you full internet routing table.
In my experience you can try with x86 hw or virtual machine using RouterOS license.

Bye,
Luciano
Luciano Talarico
TLCWEB Srl - Italy
Visit Mikrotik topics on our Linux by Myself website at linuxbms.com
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:16 pm

We would recommend using a dual core RB1100, full tables can take quite a lot of CPU as well as memory.

Nick.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:49 pm

Thanks for the advice guys. We already use quite a few rb1200 does anybody think that could be up to the job with an additional 512M memory?
 
nmaton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:31 am

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:01 pm

I have 2 1100ahx2 who have the full bgp routing table without any issues.

Hope this answers your question.
Nicolas Maton
nicolasmaton@gmail.com

CCNA/ CCDA
MTCNA / MTCTCE

Available for Mikrotik Consulting
 
spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:48 am

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:30 am

Yes thanks. I did speak to a guy at a conference the other day who said he had seen stalls using an 1100ahx2 He did say his cpu had been at 80% though so maybe that was his prob and was running pppoe server on same box. I'm glad to hear you have it running well. I will have to give it a go myself in a test.
 
kurtkraut
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:55 am

Re: suitable RB hardware for bgp multihoning a /24

Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:33 am

Folks, thank you for all the information posted here. It is now clear RB1100ahx2 can handle full BGP routing. But what about the bandwidth?

In brazillian mailing list I've seen some people stating it cannot achieve more than 200mbit/s only as a border router (no firewall, no PPPoE and etc., only BGP). Is that true?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests