Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

OSPF - route ospf error

Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:30 am

Hi,

I've been starting seenig strange OSPF errors again. Discarding packet: Locally originated src address = x.x.x.x. The logs are being spammed with this so much, it looks as this is the only thing happening on the router. We have multiple external IP's. On one of those IP's we have a VPN endpoint on which foreign offices connect. We have cca. 50 Mikrotik routers in our network all connected with OSPF. As soon as I disconnect the VPN endpoint router from the OSPF routing, the errors stop. Also I must say that everything looks as though it works normally. The foreign offices (FO) are connected via PPTP or SSTP and the OSPF is set to point-to-point on these links, others via broadcast. All other routers seem to communicate between them in a normal manner without ospf errors. It seems my predecessor was aware of these problems since he set out a logging rule, not to show errors from ospf route. This can't be the only solution, can it? Anyone else had similar problems?

Any help appreciated.

br,

bysaRD
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:39 pm

Also found this....seems to be same reason and pretty recent post.

http://www.mail-archive.com/mikrotik@ma ... 08044.html

Any admins online?


br,

bysaRD
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:48 pm

For OSPFv3. Simple queue is causing this error. Fix is already in version 6.

For IPv4, there could be several reasons.
* Multiple addresses on the same interface and both addresses are added to OSPF networks.
* Layer-2 loop
* Duplicate router-IDs
* the same IP address configured on more than one router... etc.
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:16 pm

Thank you mrz for your answer. The situation is like this:

The router I found out to be causing the problems is our VPN gateway. Lets say that we have a local address for VPN endpoint and it is 192.168.1.1. VPN clients get IP's 192.168.1.2, 3, 4, etc. VPN gateway has its own public address, but is also connected through eth2 adapter to our core router (which has its own public IP, but from the same /29 range as VPN endpoint. Public routes are not pushed through OSPF).
So the OSPF network rule is: 192.168.1.0/24 on vpn endpoint site and also on client sides. As soon as I add these routes to VPN router I start getting route ospf error spams. If I disconnect the VPN router from our network I don't see these errors on any other router but VPN endpoint. If I disconnect all but 1 VPN clients on VPN endpoint router = no errors. Anything else = errors. It seems that this could be something like same IP on multiple interfaces, but even if I change each VPN connection range to it's own subnet (192.168.1.0/30, 192.168.1.4/30,...) - so no VPN interface is having the same IP, I still get this error.

Closer, but still lost :(


br,

bysaRD
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:20 pm

VPN addresses are /32. Try to remove /24 from ospf networks and add only remote /32 addresses. Do not add local 192.168.1.1/32
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:03 pm

I tried it:

on VPN endpoint i added:

192.168.1.2, 3, 4,....

on clients:

192.168.1.1

Now it's spamming non-stop, every 5s, before it was 40s. Did I do this correct?

also:

- no layer2 loop
- i don't have duplicate IP's
- i don't have duplicate router-id

br,

bysaRD
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Fri May 03, 2013 7:56 am

I don't get this. All I see is red lines in log. I didn't do anything else but upgrade routers from 5.18 to 5.24/5.25. :(

This has to be a bug, can you please look into this? There are a lot of posts on forums over the internet about Mikrotik and OSPF errors in logs.
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:24 am

No loopbacks in network, each router has it's own routerID and still spam in logs....route ospf error...locally originated. 10 lines of spam per 40s.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:54 pm

This is one of the issues we are also seeing.

I thought it was since 6.x came out, but just tested with 5.24 and it also happens there. Went back to 5.16 and the problem does not exist.
Last edited by nz_monkey on Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Sep 03, 2013 12:58 pm

VPN addresses are /32. Try to remove /24 from ospf networks and add only remote /32 addresses. Do not add local 192.168.1.1/32
mrz maybe I am misunderstanding what you are trying to achieve with this, but to me this kind of defeats the purpose of OSPF networks, you are meant to be able to put the /24 in there and have it match any interface that has an IP within that /24.

Having to add every little subnet to the OSPF networks would be tedious.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:01 pm

Same here and unfortuantely we got used to live with this problem.

Everywhere is red logs of OSPF error.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:05 pm

You get this error if there is ospf receives packet that has the same router id included listed as receiving router.

Run packet sniffer and check from which router you receive this packet then look from there.
 
billjr@wow-tel.com
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:13 am

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Wed Sep 04, 2013 3:18 pm

We are having the same problem. It seemed to start with the more recent versions newer than 5.19. I am joining the thread to follow it for help. We have about 60 routers in our network all on the backbone running OSPF and the core router at the edge which is our BGP gateway is running constant "route ospf error Discarding packet: locally originated" for every IP address that is local to this router. There are no bridge loops. Thanks for the help.
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:46 pm

I set the OSPF to nbma mode and configured everything manually. No errors so far for 10 hours. Does this kinda suggests a bug in OSPF?
Last edited by bysard on Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:52 am

What mode did you have it in previously?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:01 am

Combo mode. For VPN links i used Point-to-point and for LAN links and subnets I used broadcast. I use NBMA for all now and it's beautiful. Also tried RIP and also had no problems.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:26 am

Sounds like this error may be related to the OSPF multicast streams 224.0.05 and 6 since NBMA utilizes unicast to for a neighbor adjacency.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
bysard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF - route ospf error

Sat Sep 14, 2013 7:25 am

NBMA failed us also. At some (seems) random point I can't get routes anymore from main to client routers. All links are stable, no loopbacks and each OSPF router has it's own routerID! Not all OSPF links fall down at the same time. Both routers still see each other as neighbours, one as DR and others as backup. Restarting a client router always helps and I get routes pushed back for again a random time. It really doesn't matter which RB I use. It can be a true RB or an x86 machine or VM - same problems. I can't seem to be able to solve this problem so I was asked to move everything back to RIP. RIP also pushes routes immediatelly, where OSPF needs quite some time. We have 15 routers at this location interconnected via copper or fiber. Using RoS versions from 5.24 to 6.4.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests