Page 1 of 1

MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:26 am
by wirelessguy86
Hi Guys,

I was wondering if someone could help me out, I have a simple working MPLSVPLS network between 3 routers. I currently have 2 separate VPLS VPN's between R1 and R3 and their working fine, what I would like to accomplish is to send the traffic of one of them through the R2. I followed a couple different how to's and I was able to setup TE tunnels between the routers and I am able to control what connections both VPLS are sent on. The problem I am having is I can't seem to control each individual VPLS. I found a posting that mentioned that you need to create a separate loopback IP and setup the VPLS and TE tunnels to use those IP's. I have tried that and when I set one of the VPLS to use the second loopback IP on each router it won't come up(even though I can ping the second loopback IP on each router) as soon as I set it back to the main loopback ip it works fine. Any direction on this would be a appreciated.


Thanks,

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 2:15 am
by craigvanham
anybody?

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:54 am
by IPANetEngineer
Post a diagram if you can..

Couple quick things

1. Check to ensure the loopbacks are advertised (i'm guessing you're running OSPF as the IGP)
2. Check your firewall rules to ensure LDP/OPSF traffic is permitted through for the new loopbacks

If you can't ping from one new loopback sourced as the other new loopback, then you have a routing or firewall issue most likely.

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2013 2:33 am
by wirelessguy86
Thanks for the info,

I checked and the new loopbacks are being advertised and I am able to ping them.

Attached is the diagram of what I want to accomplish.
Diag.pdf

I am under the impression that I need to create a TE tunnel between R1 - R3 routing through R2, which I have done and it's working using the loop back address (10.255.255.1 10.255.255.3). The problem is both VPLS 1 and VPLS 2 start using the tunnel, which isn't unexpected from what read on the wiki, because both VPLS tunnels have the same endpoint and select the tunnel as it's transport. This is where I run into problems how do I control what transport the each individual VPLS connection uses? I thought I would be able to add additional loopback ips to each router and set each VPLS tunnel to use the different loopback IPs, problem is when I try to use the additional loopback ips the VPLS connection never comes up but the TE tunnels are established using those new loopback IP's. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:17 pm
by Abdock
Hello,

Did you find solution to this ? did adding more loopback addresses helped ?

Thanks.

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 4:38 pm
by jayd2k
There's definitely a great need for clarification here.
  • How to identify the TE tunnel(s) being used by a respective VPLS tunnel?
  • Establishing TE tunnels (RSVP-TE) between other ip addresses than the "main loopback" addresses doesn't work
I'm attaching a lab diagram covering the use case of having two VPLS tunnels that are supposed to be carried by two separate TE tunnel pairs.

Perhaps someone could enlighten us. I been trying to wrap my head around this for quite a while now.

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 4:56 pm
by jayd2k
Here's some additional information on R1 and R3.

I'm aware of the fact that VPLS tunnels aren't part of this configuration. First goal should be to get the TE tunnels up and running.

ros code

[admin@R1] > /mpls traffic-eng interface print detail 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid 
 0   interface=ether10 bandwidth=100Mbps k-factor=3 resource-class=0 
     refresh-time=30s use-udp=no blockade-k-factor=3 te-metric=1 
     igp-flood-period=3m up-flood-thresholds=0 down-flood-thresholds=0 
     remaining-bw=100.0Mbps 

[admin@R1] > /mpls traffic-eng path-state print detail 
Flags: L - locally-originated, E - egress, F - forwarding, P - sending-path, 
R - sending-resv


[admin@R1] > /mpls traffic-eng tunnel-path print 
Flags: X - disabled 
 #   NAME                           USE-CSPF HOPS                  
 0   dyn                            yes     

[admin@R1] > ip route print 
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, 
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 #      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY            DISTANCE
 0 ADC  10.99.238.1/32     10.99.238.1     loopback                  0
 1 ADo  10.99.238.2/32                     172.16.1.2              110
 2 ADo  10.99.238.3/32                     172.16.1.2              110
 3 ADC  10.100.0.1/32      10.100.0.1      loopback                  0
 4 ADC  10.100.0.2/32      10.100.0.2      loopback                  0
 5 ADo  10.100.0.3/32                      172.16.1.2              110
 6 ADo  10.100.0.4/32                      172.16.1.2              110
 7 ADC  10.150.0.0/24      10.150.0.1      ether2                    0
 8 ADC  172.16.1.0/30      172.16.1.1      ether10                   0
 9 ADo  172.16.2.0/30                      172.16.1.2              110

[admin@R1] > /routing ospf instance print detail 
Flags: X - disabled, * - default 
 0  * name="default" router-id=10.99.238.1 distribute-default=never 
      redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=no 
      redistribute-rip=no redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-other-ospf=no 
      metric-default=1 metric-connected=20 metric-static=20 metric-rip=20 
      metric-bgp=auto metric-other-ospf=auto mpls-te-area=backbone 
      mpls-te-router-id=loopback in-filter=ospf-in out-filter=ospf-out

ros code

[admin@R3] > /mpls traffic-eng interface print detail 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid 
 0   interface=ether9 bandwidth=100Mbps k-factor=3 resource-class=0 
     refresh-time=30s use-udp=no blockade-k-factor=3 te-metric=1 
     igp-flood-period=3m up-flood-thresholds=0 down-flood-thresholds=0 
     remaining-bw=100.0Mbps 

[admin@R3] > /mpls traffic-eng path-state print detail   
Flags: L - locally-originated, E - egress, F - forwarding, P - sending-path, 
R - sending-resv 

[admin@R3] > /mpls traffic-eng tunnel-path print       
Flags: X - disabled 
 #   NAME                           USE-CSPF HOPS                  
 0   dyn                            yes     

[admin@R3] > ip route print 
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, 
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 #      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY            DISTANCE
 0 ADo  10.99.238.1/32                     172.16.2.1              110
 1 ADo  10.99.238.2/32                     172.16.2.1              110
 2 ADC  10.99.238.3/32     10.99.238.3     loopback                  0
 3 ADo  10.100.0.1/32                      172.16.2.1              110
 4 ADo  10.100.0.2/32                      172.16.2.1              110
 5 ADC  10.100.0.3/32      10.100.0.3      loopback                  0
 6 ADC  10.100.0.4/32      10.100.0.4      loopback                  0
 7 ADo  10.150.0.0/24                      172.16.2.1              110
 8 ADo  172.16.1.0/30                      172.16.2.1              110
 9 ADC  172.16.2.0/30      172.16.2.2      ether9                    0

[admin@R3] > routing ospf instance print detail 
Flags: X - disabled, * - default 
 0  * name="default" router-id=10.99.238.3 distribute-default=never 
      redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=no 
      redistribute-rip=no redistribute-bgp=no redistribute-other-ospf=no 
      metric-default=1 metric-connected=20 metric-static=20 metric-rip=20 
      metric-bgp=auto metric-other-ospf=auto mpls-te-area=backbone 
      mpls-te-router-id=loopback in-filter=ospf-in out-filter=ospf-out

Re: MPLS / VPLS and TE Tunnels

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:59 am
by boardman
Did anybody ever found a solution to this, I'm stuck at the same spot.