Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:49 pm

Weird things happening ….

Hello guys, we have a setup of routers, connected using ospf, mpls, BGP and vpls, a segment of that network goes from router MAIN to router B passing through a "Core" router and a "A" router through two point to point links. Connectivity from MAIN to B appears to be perfect.

Something like this:

MAIN ------Core------[w-x]------A-----[y-z]-------B

Where :
MAIN, Core, A y B are Mikrotik routers
[w-x] y [y-z] point to point links Ubiquiti Rocket M5 (MTU=1600)

The thing is there is a VPLS from "MAIN" router to "B" router, (this same setup is up and running on different segments of the same network), the weird thing is that the VPLS sows UP and RUNNING on "MAIN" router end with only TX traffic showing on the stats counters, on "B" router end the VPLS shows as NOT RUNNING and only showing RX traffic on the stats counters... weird.

If I disable the vpls or change something on it at B router side it immediately shows as NOT running at "MAIN" router, so it looks like the vpls is half establishied or something....

None of he routers have firewall

Any idea where to look for a solution?

Router MAIN 5.25 on a x86 : (The other two VPLS are working ok, To Librado Edge Router is the one not working.
/interface vpls
add advertised-l2mtu=1540 arp=enabled cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 comment="To Rago Edge Router" disable-running-check=no disabled=no l2mtu=1540 \
mac-address=02:8C:DC:B9:AD:CC mtu=1500 name=vpls_to_Rago pw-type=raw-ethernet remote-peer=172.16.1.103 use-control-word=default vpls-id=111:103
add advertised-l2mtu=1540 arp=enabled cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 comment="To NT Edge Router" disable-running-check=no disabled=no l2mtu=1540 \
mac-address=02:D3:84:4C:4B:1F mtu=1500 name=vpls_to_NT pw-type=raw-ethernet remote-peer=172.16.1.105 use-control-word=default vpls-id=111:105
add advertised-l2mtu=1540 arp=enabled cisco-style=no cisco-style-id=0 comment="To Librado Edge Router" disable-running-check=no disabled=no l2mtu=1540 \
mac-address=02:D6:0A:D9:A7:A4 mtu=1500 name=vpls_to_Librado pw-type=raw-ethernet remote-peer=172.16.1.107 use-control-word=default vpls-id=111:107

Router B 6.1 on a RB2011L
/interface vpls
add advertised-l2mtu=1540 comment="To Mainrouter" disabled=no l2mtu=1540 mac-address=02:5D:1B:C0:44:C1 name=vpls_LP remote-peer=172.16.1.101 vpls-id=111:107


Thanks

Ing. Jorge Boardman
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1152
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:17 am

Few things

Are the remote peer adresses routable to each other and have you verified with pings?
Have you configured and enabled LDP?
Is the MPLS MTU the same on all devices?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:33 am

Few things

Are the remote peer adresses routable to each other and have you verified with pings?
Have you configured and enabled LDP?
Is the MPLS MTU the same on all devices?
Thanks for the reply.

Here are the traces from each direction ...

From MAIN to B
[admin@APL Mainrouter] /tool> trace 172.16.1.107
# ADDRESS RT1 RT2 RT3 STATUS
1 10.0.9.2 9ms 8ms 11ms <MPLS:L=10255,E=0>
2 10.0.9.28 9ms 12ms 6ms <MPLS:L=2806,E=0>
3 172.16.1.107 4ms 4ms 4ms

From B to MAIN
[admin@LP Edge Router] /tool> traceroute 172.16.1.101
# ADDRESS RT1 RT2 RT3 STATUS
1 10.0.9.33 1ms 1ms 1ms
2 10.0.9.25 5ms 8ms 9ms <MPLS:L=101,E=0>
3 172.16.1.101 4ms 5ms 3ms

Yes, LDP is configured and enabled
Yes, MPLS is the same on all devices

J. Boardman
 
CelticComms
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:48 am

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:06 pm

If you haven't already resolved this I suggest double checking that LDP is running A's interface that faces B and failing that check all LDP settings/interfaces and the A<>B P2P for transparency.

Problems on LDP settings can cause the symptoms that you described.
Interlynx | Networking and Information Security Consultants & Trainers | Email: routerlynx@gmail.com
BGP | EIGRP | OSPF | MPLS | Firewall | VPN | IPsec | Multicast | QOS | IPv4/6 | STP | VLAN | PON | AE | M2M | and more!

 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Mon Jul 22, 2013 7:52 pm

Thanks, this issue is solved, it was a LDP interface on router A, I forgot to add it. Exact as you mentioned ...

Jorge
 
CelticComms
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1766
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 5:48 am

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:09 am

Glad it is resolved - sorry I didn't see the original post sooner.
Interlynx | Networking and Information Security Consultants & Trainers | Email: routerlynx@gmail.com
BGP | EIGRP | OSPF | MPLS | Firewall | VPN | IPsec | Multicast | QOS | IPv4/6 | STP | VLAN | PON | AE | M2M | and more!

 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: VPLS one end up, one end down.. not working

Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:54 pm

Glad it is resolved - sorry I didn't see the original post sooner.

Thanks !!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests