Page 1 of 1

ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:44 pm
by Bitto
Hello,

We have a wierd problem in 6.4, ipv6 and rstp do not work. Does any one have any idea why this is hapenning, is this a bug or protocol related problem?
ipv4 works fine but ipv6 says "no route to host" all the time.

Thanks.

Re: ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:16 pm
by janisk
can you show us relevant configuration?

Re: ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:32 am
by cma1kep
the same issue.

Re: ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 5:59 pm
by cma1kep
the same issue.
Router CCR1036, v6.12

Re: ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:08 am
by Majklik
When you have this problem, is there a link local IPv6 address on the bridge interface? There is probably a small bug that sometimes after the router start is not assigned link local address to the bridge interface (and then IPv6 do not works on this bridge). I saw this with ROS5.25, 5.26 and the ROS6 versions. When this happen then under '/ipv6 address print' is missing link local address on the affected bridge interface.
With ROS6 when this happen then is there under /ipv6 address correct link local address with unknown interface (ROS5 have not this symptom):
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > /ipv6 address print where  address="fe80::ff:fe00:12/64"
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic, G - global, L - link-local 
 #    ADDRESS                                     FROM-POOL INTERFACE               ADVERTISE
19 DL fe80::ff:fe00:12/64                                   (unknown)               no       
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > 
Commonly can be solved with disable/enable sequence on the affected bridge interface:
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > /ipv6 address print where interface=bridge1         
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic, G - global, L - link-local 
 #    ADDRESS                                     FROM-POOL INTERFACE               ADVERTISE
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > /interface bridge disable bridge1; /interface bridge enable bridge1
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > /ipv6 address print where interface=bridge1
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic, G - global, L - link-local 
 #    ADDRESS                                     FROM-POOL INTERFACE               ADVERTISE
22 DL fe80::ff:fe00:12/64                                   bridge1                 no      
[admin@TES-TRBRB2] > /interface bridge print where name=bridge1
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="bridge1" mtu=1500 l2mtu=65535 arp=enabled mac-address=02:00:00:00:00:12 
      protocol-mode=rstp priority=0x8000 auto-mac=no admin-mac=02:00:00:00:00:12 
      max-message-age=20s forward-delay=15s transmit-hold-count=6 ageing-time=5m 
This problem was reported very long time ago.
A simple workaround is a scheduled script which disable/enable bridge interface when there is not the link local address on the bridge (sometimes must be disabled/enabled multiple times and the link local address is missing sometimes on different bridge interfaces).
On some routers this problem clear away export, reset to the default and import of the configuration (NO backup, restore sequence!).
I've this problem with RB1100AH/AHx2 routers.

Re: ipv6 bridge rstp combination will not work.

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 8:22 am
by cma1kep
Changing admin-mac address and auto-mac=no of Bridge interface helped for me.