Community discussions

 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Ospf settings

Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:57 pm

Hello everybody!I can get an 192.168.1.195/24 IP address from the ISP,this is an inside address.DNS server:192.168.1.1,Gateway:192.168.1.1

This is appear in my RB 751U on the Ether1,this is an dhcp-client.On this port i can get internet connection.

On the Ether3 port running the ospf backbone network:10.10.10.0/24

Ether3 port IP address:10.10.10.1/24

This 751U router connecting to an RB951's Ether1:10.10.10.2/24

This is the ospf backbone network:RB751 between RB951

1 area connected to the RB951:the area network is 10.10.20.0/30

The area network is running between RB951 and RB750GL

Anyway on the RB951's on wlan port running an DHCP-server:10.10.30.0/24, wlan's port IP address:10.10.30.1/24

RB 951's Ether2 ip address:10.10.20.1/30
RB 750GL Ether1 ip address:10.10.20.2/30

RB 750GL's ether2 running an DHCP-server:10.10.40.0/24, RB750 GL's Ether2 ip address is 10.10.40.1/24

I can ping every devices,redistribute-connected route=as-type1 setting is on the routers.

My question is that what further settings need in the routers if i would like to connect to the Internet for example from the 10.10.30.0/24 or the 10.10.40.0/24 networks?

I am just want to get basic knowledge about dynamic routing,because i have got basic knowledge static routing settings
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Ospf settings

Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:03 pm

Enable default-route redistribution for that OSPF instance.

Look on wiki, the differences between the various settings for the redistribution are there. (too much to type here)

You only need to enable this on the edge router that has a default route.
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:27 pm

The default route redistribute has enabled on all devices,but i still can not connect to the internet
 
User avatar
tomaskir
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1120
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:32 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Ospf settings

Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:31 pm

Are you currectly NATing at your edge?

Do all the routers have a correct default route in their routing table?
Unimus - configuration management, automation and backup solution
Mass Config Push, network-wide RouterOS upgrades, and more!
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:00 pm

Yes,the default routes are correct,and my next question is that how should i set the NAT correctly?


The internet is working,i can connect from the connected networks for example,with my LG phone

I need to redsitribute the default route on my 751,because this is working now as AS router.
And all routers redistribute the connected routes as well.

The NAT settings are the following:

On the RB 751 i need to nat:10.10.10.0/24
On the RB 951 i need to nat:10.10.20.0/30,10.10.30.0/24
On the RB 750GL i need to nat:10.10.40.0/24

And this way i can reach the 192.168.1.0/24 network

But i do not know that the NAT settings this way correct or not?
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:03 am

So nobody knows why need to NAT the backbone and the area networks?Why not enough just the connected networks?
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:06 pm

You shouldn't need to NAT if your routes are distributing correctly

Can you show the IP Routes from each router ?

Also you seem to mention 2 areas ? you should only need to use backbone for a small network.

Nick.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:29 pm

Hello,so i try out without areas, at the moment the backbone network is:10.10.10.0/24

RB 751:10.10.10.1/24=Ether3, and there is dhcp-client on Ether1 interface=192.168.1.195/24, dns-server is:192.168.1.1
RB 951:10.10.10.2/24=Ether1

On RB 751 enabled: redistribute-connected routes=as-type 1 and redistribute the default route= always as type 1
On RB 951 enabled: redistribute-connected routes=as type 1

There is a connected network on RB 951 wlan's interface:10.10.20.0/24 (wlan's interface ip address is:10.10.20.1/24

And the NAT in the RB 951:10.10.20.0/24: ip firewall nat src-address=10.10.20.0/24 out-interface=ether1 action=masquerade
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:29 pm

If the 751 is acting as your border router then you should NAT on there.

I don't think you need a NAT at all on the 951

Can you draw a picture ?

Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:43 pm

I can not draw a picture,but here is the scenario:

RB 751--------------RB951 they are the OSPF backbone.

RB 751 ether1 connected to the ISP:192.168.1.195/24 and the dns is:192.168.1.1

At the moment there is not any area that connected to the backbone.

Anyway i took your advice:at the moment i need to NAT in the RB 751:10.10.20.0/24,and i can connect to the Internet,and no need to NAT in the RB951

I just want to develop my networking knowledge,i have got a test network with some Mikrotik devices.

So at the moment my RB 751 is the AS system boundary router,and i need to NAT just in this router
 
Trackboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:19 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Ospf settings

Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:53 pm

Anyway, if i have a backbone network with one area, how should i add more routers to the regular area?

Between RB 751 and RB 951 are the backbone

RB 411 GL connect via wifi to the RB 951:this is the regular area

And how should i expand the area?I would like to attach an RB 750 GL to the RB 411 GL ethernet port

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests