Page 1 of 1

stable version of CCR-1016 or CCR10-1036 for use as BGP?

Posted: Mon May 19, 2014 5:31 pm
by xivot
Hello everyone,

we are using currently an RB1100Hx2 with v5.20 as BRP router and it is working perfectly without any problem. We tried several times to replace it with a CCR-1036 or with a CCR-1016 and with the latest firmware versions but we always experience problems like reboots, crashes, no connections, empty lists etc.
I just wanted to ask if there is someone that is using the CCRs as BGP router and with what version?
We have 2 BGP peers with about 500k prefixes each one.

Thank you in advanced!
Best Regards

Re: stable version of CCR-1016 or CCR10-1036 for use as BGP?

Posted: Tue May 20, 2014 12:51 am
by joegoldman
Hi,

There are several folks on here using 1036 with multiple full routing tables (see http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=84407)

Perhaps it is something else in your layout causing the issue?

What versions of ROS have you tried?

Personally, I am preparing to place 2x 1036's in at my core, and so far in the lab I have not had any problems, although I was only chucking around 60k~ routes at a time.

Is it possible to have some type of out of band access or serial console access to the devices, to do more troubleshooting when it freezes?
Is it pure random or can you force a freeze with a particular action?

Thanks,
Joe

Re: stable version of CCR-1016 or CCR10-1036 for use as BGP?

Posted: Sun May 25, 2014 2:04 pm
by Luth
Hi,

we have in a production environment two CCR1016-12G with Router OS v6.12 and 4 BGP session with upstream for each router.
In total 500.000 routes (Full Routing Table) in avarage recived from our upstreams.

No reboot or other issue verified in last month.

Bye,
Luciano