Community discussions

 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

BGP IPv6

Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:03 pm

Hello,

My ISP provided me 2 ipv6 addresses to establish a BGP session on IPV6:
- xxxx:8240:127::1 is our neighbour
- xxxx:8240:127::5 is the ip for our router

So i tried to configure them...
[xxx@yyy] /ipv6 address> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic, G - global, L - link-local
# ADDRESS FROM-POOL INTERFACE ADVERTISE
0 G xxxx:8240:127::5/48 ether01 ... no

Then, when i want to create a new instance in BGP
[TWadmin@RTR DC Rijen] /routing bgp instance> add name=test as=48260 router-id=xxxx:8240:127::5
invalid value for argument router-id

When i try it using Winbox, i get the error "error in router ID - ip address expected". But i do enter an ip address : the xxxx:8240:127::5 ipv6 address from our provider?

Can somebody please explain this?
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: BGP IPv6

Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:42 pm

The BGP router ID is actually a 32 bit integer for both IPv4 and IPv6, so you need to use an IPv4 address, which is a 32 bit integer in dotted quad format.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
faisali
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 5:11 am

Re: BGP IPv6

Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:23 am

Best practices suggest that the Router ID to be a valid (single /32) IPv4 Address which is also setup a a Loopback IP on the router.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests