Community discussions

 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

BGP & ICMP

Wed May 06, 2015 11:43 am

We do BGP with our uplink provider ISP (Belgacom), and we always see 2x "request timed out" in a traceroute. The first time it's our ISP, but the second time it's the routerboard.

So how can i set the routerboard so that it answer when we do a traceroute?

Traceroute to a server behind the routerboard
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.255.1
  2    12 ms     8 ms     8 ms  d54c6b001.access.telenet.be [84.198.176.1]
  3    14 ms     8 ms    12 ms  dd5e0cc91.access.telenet.be [213.224.204.145]
  4    11 ms    13 ms    13 ms  dd5e0fa46.access.telenet.be [213.224.250.70]
  5    12 ms    14 ms    17 ms  skynet.bnix.net [194.53.172.81]
  6    16 ms    12 ms    18 ms  lag-26-1000.iprmar1.isp.belgacom.be [91.183.246.140]
  7    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  175.246-183-91.adsl-static.isp.belgacom.be [91.183.246.175]
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out. <---- our ISP
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out. <---- Routerboard
 10    19 ms    19 ms    17 ms  speedtest01.lok.teleweb.network [185.77.198.151]
When we do a traceroute to the ip of the routerboard, it answers...
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.255.1
  2     9 ms     9 ms    10 ms  d54c6b001.access.telenet.be [84.198.176.1]
  3    11 ms     9 ms    12 ms  dd5e0c891.access.telenet.be [213.224.200.145]
  4    10 ms     9 ms    13 ms  dd5e0fa46.access.telenet.be [213.224.250.70]
  5    14 ms    15 ms    12 ms  skynet.bnix.net [194.53.172.81]
  6    13 ms    12 ms    13 ms  lag-26-1000.iprmar1.isp.belgacom.be [91.183.246.140]
  7    11 ms    19 ms    28 ms  175.246-183-91.adsl-static.isp.belgacom.be [91.183.246.175]
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out. <---- our ISP
  9    22 ms    18 ms    13 ms  ge0-1-1.rt01.be-9160-01.as48260.net [185.77.198.1] <---- Routerboard
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: BGP & ICMP

Wed May 06, 2015 11:47 am

Do you have all DNS and revDNS records for your IP and your's ISP ?
"*" usually means that DNS could not be resolved for pinged address. How it looks like when you do it with IPs only ?
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: BGP & ICMP

Wed May 06, 2015 11:52 am

I do have DNS and rDNS on these IP's.
The traceroutes you see are traceroutes directly to the ip's (185.77.198.151 for the first traceroute, and 185.77.198.1 for the second)
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: BGP & ICMP

Wed May 06, 2015 4:21 pm

If your DNS is solid, do you have any firewall rules that could be filtering ICMP?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: BGP & ICMP

Wed May 06, 2015 4:37 pm

There are (at this moment!) no firewall rules set.
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: BGP & ICMP

Thu May 07, 2015 3:35 am

The ISP isn't announcing the peering ips most likely.
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: BGP & ICMP

Thu May 07, 2015 1:30 pm

The Mikrotik is announcing the IP range :-)
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: BGP & ICMP

Thu May 07, 2015 6:56 pm

Can those hops be pinged individually from inside / outside your AS? Do you know the IP's of those hops?

It sounds like something (ISP) is filtering ICMP on those hops, or like road racer indicated the subnet between you and the ISP isn't announced, which, is independent from your announcement.
William Burnett
Network Engineer
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: BGP & ICMP

Fri May 08, 2015 4:38 am

The Mikrotik is announcing the IP range :-)
I meant the ips between you and them. The /30 between you is peeled off of a latger subnet that they might not announce.
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: BGP & ICMP

Fri May 08, 2015 3:33 pm

I wonder if the ISP is filtering ICMP unreachable messages from their own IP range.

Try doing the traceroute to the routerboard, but use its link IP address facing the ISP, and not the .1 from your own network range. If that also fails, the ISP is almost certainly filtering messages with sources from inside their address range.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests