Community discussions

 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:36 am

Image
4core CPU 2.8Ghz

CHR 6.41.2 Fresh install
with defaults and just 2IP and 1 Default route

update:
I have change 4 to 1 Core CPU for this CHR
and this is the result

Image

Image
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:24 am

UPUP UP
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23109
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:33 am

What is your question? You haven't even used half of your CPU resources (wasting them).
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:23 pm

What is your question? You haven't even used half of your CPU resources (wasting them).
Hi normis
High Cpu usage is the main problem
why CHR with 4* 2.8Ghz Core uses 6.5Ghz for 2Gbps traffic
when CHR with 1*2.8Ghz core uses 2.5GHz for 2gbps?
both of them shows 50% in winbox
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23109
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:25 pm

50% is little usage. You still have 50% unused CPU resources. You could route much more traffic.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:45 pm

50% is little usage. You still have 50% unused CPU resources. You could route much more traffic.
normis believe me 6.5GHz is not Little
why CHR with more Core use more CPU?
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
Paternot
Member
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:06 pm

Have You verified the core allocation, on the virtual host?

Take KVM as an example:

I can allocate (say) 4 cores, from my single CPU. But, then, I can tell the virtual host to allocate 8 cores, to the virtual machine. It is not a good idea, but can be done.

So, question: did you really allocate 4 real cores to the virtual machine? Or, by mistake, is it using only one hardware core? It would explain the CPU usage you are seeing: since there is only one hardware core to do the work, it would look more loaded, when you carve it in four.
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:19 pm

Have You verified the core allocation, on the virtual host?

Take KVM as an example:

I can allocate (say) 4 cores, from my single CPU. But, then, I can tell the virtual host to allocate 8 cores, to the virtual machine. It is not a good idea, but can be done.

So, question: did you really allocate 4 real cores to the virtual machine? Or, by mistake, is it using only one hardware core? It would explain the CPU usage you are seeing: since there is only one hardware core to do the work, it would look more loaded, when you carve it in four.
2x Intel Xeon E5-2680v2
20Core / 40thread
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23109
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:32 pm

Winbox shows 1 CPU, so only one core configured in your VM settings.
What RouterOS config you have? Firewall, NAT, any other config? In any case, 50% CPU usage is normal.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:35 pm

Winbox shows 1 CPU, so only one core configured in your VM settings.
What RouterOS config you have? Firewall, NAT, any other config? In any case, 50% CPU usage is normal.
there is no Firewall and queue
in first pic I configured 4 core , 50% usage = 6.5Ghz
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com
 
Paternot
Member
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:33 am


2x Intel Xeon E5-2680v2
20Core / 40thread
Well, it still doesn't answer the question. You have 20 cores, 40 threads, to use. When creating the virtual machine did You allocate 4 cores? To be perfectly clear: it is possible to allocate more threads than cores - you can allocate one core and 4 threads to the machine. It would show up as a machine with 4 cores (or CPUs, by your configuration) - but will have only one hardware core available to work these 4 threads.

The expected result is something on the same lines you are reporting.

P.S. - Last time I checked, the official recommendation from Intel was to disable HyperThreading on virtual hosts.
 
User avatar
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.3Ghz CPU usage just for 2Gbps bandwidth

Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:40 am


2x Intel Xeon E5-2680v2
20Core / 40thread
Well, it still doesn't answer the question. You have 20 cores, 40 threads, to use. When creating the virtual machine did You allocate 4 cores? To be perfectly clear: it is possible to allocate more threads than cores - you can allocate one core and 4 threads to the machine. It would show up as a machine with 4 cores (or CPUs, by your configuration) - but will have only one hardware core available to work these 4 threads.

The expected result is something on the same lines you are reporting.

P.S. - Last time I checked, the official recommendation from Intel was to disable HyperThreading on virtual hosts.
1socket 4 core
in default when u create machine with 4 CPU vmware create 4sockets and 1 core for each i just change it to 1sockets with 4 sockets
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
میکروتیک فا برای فارسی زبان ها
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
https://mikrotikfa.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests