Community discussions

 
joecool
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:30 pm

RouterOS KVM with CentOS7 - getting error x86-64 only detects i686

Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:39 pm

Hello,

We are trying to setup a KVM on Mikrotik Router OS. We have successfully been able to get the image file to boot. We start the install and from VNC connected to the KVM and we get an error saying:

"This kernal requires an x86-64 CPU, but only detected an i686 CPU. This processor is unsupported in CentOS7. "

We have confirmed that we have an intel 64 bit xeon processor. So somehow we have to tell the KVM or Mikrotik Router OS that we do have a x86-64 processor. Does anyone have any ideas on this can be done?
 
User avatar
penguinpages
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:35 am

Re: RouterOS KVM with CentOS7 - getting error x86-64 only detects i686

Fri Oct 11, 2019 5:38 am

Not sure if this is much help but I just got the virtual router to boot fine on CentOS KVM host


Deployment Steps:
wget https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros ... 6.45.6.ova
tar -xvf chr-6.44.5.ova
qemu-img convert -O qcow2 MikroTik_CHR_release_6.44.5-disk1.vmdk MikroTik_CHR_release_6.44.5-disk1.qcow2
mv MikroTik_CHR_release_6.44.5-disk1.qcow2 mtrt01.qcow2
# Not figured out syntax to add more nics.. so I cheat and use GUI... I added one nic for each of the five of a switch I am trying to simulate
vm_add_nic_gui_cheat.png
virsh start mtrt01
virsh console mtrt01


####
Connected to domain mtrt01
Escape character is ^]
MikroTik 6.44.5 (long-term)
roTik Login: admin
assword:



MMM MMM KKK TTTTTTTTTTT KKK
MMMM MMMM KKK TTTTTTTTTTT KKK
MMM MMMM MMM III KKK KKK RRRRRR OOOOOO TTT III KKK KKK
MMM MM MMM III KKKKK RRR RRR OOO OOO TTT III KKKKK
MMM MMM III KKK KKK RRRRRR OOO OOO TTT III KKK KKK
MMM MMM III KKK KKK RRR RRR OOOOOO TTT III KKK KKK

MikroTik RouterOS 6.44.5 (c) 1999-2019 http://www.mikrotik.com/

[?] Gives the list of available commands
command [?] Gives help on the command and list of arguments

[Tab] Completes the command/word. If the input is ambiguous,
a second [Tab] gives possible options

/ Move up to base level
.. Move up one level
/command Use command at the base level



[admin@MikroTik] >
############

What is still unknown / broken for me is to know names of interfaces and that the NICs I add to VM show up.

[admin@MikroTik] /interface list> print
Flags: * - builtin, D - dynamic
# NAME INCLUDE EXCLUDE
0 * ;;; contains all interfaces
all
1 * ;;; contains no interfaces
none
2 * ;;; contains dynamic interfaces
dynamic
[admin@MikroTik] /interface list>
[admin@MikroTik] /interface list> export
# oct/11/2019 02:36:50 by RouterOS 6.44.5
# software id =
#
#
#


# This vs my physical router
[admin@sw3] /interface list> export
# oct/10/2019 22:36:36 by RouterOS 6.45.6
# software id = 9NJL-Q743
#
# model = CRS305-1G-4S+
# serial number = AB5C0AA12802
/interface list
add name=WAN
add name=LAN
/interface list member
add comment="sw3-1 SFP to Port0 on 10Gb NIC" interface=thor-enp3s0f0 list=LAN
add comment="sw3-2 SFP to Port0 on 10Gb NIC" interface=odin-enp3s0f0 list=LAN
add comment="sw3-3 SFP to Port0 on 10Gb NIC" interface=medusa-enp3s0f0 list=LAN
add interface=sfp-sfpplus4 list=LAN
add interface=sw0-24 list=WAN
[admin@sw3] /interface list>

###


Hope that helps..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests