Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:04 pm

/interface ethernet set ether2-lan mac-address=XX...

This command not working... at all! Is that a bug? Please help! :(

I am licensed and autorised user with P1 level.
Last edited by fbslim on Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:58 am

Hello! Anybody home???!!!

Developers! Say something! I payed money for this!!!
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:33 pm

Great support! Thank you guys!
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4890
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:35 pm

If you want answer from MikroTik, write to support. This is officially a user forum.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:22 pm

And what about to set the mac address in hypervisor?
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:12 pm

And what about to set the mac address in hypervisor?
I wrote a letter to support. Still wayting...
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:43 pm

And what about to set the mac address in hypervisor?
Answer from support:

"Hello,

MAC-address should be changed from Hypervisor, there is no way to change it from CHR RouterOS.

Best regards,
MikroTik.com"
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:45 pm

And my next question to support is:

"Hello,

But why i can change mac on old x86 Routers OS v 5.26, оn the same hypervisor planform?"

8)
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:54 pm

Because your old x86 platform used a generic e1000 interface.
the CHR platform uses an advanced Paravirtualized that is completely controlled by the hypervisor.
It is a simple single line in the vmx file, and can be done via ssh. Or, you can use the Console. It really shouldn't be a huge issue either way.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:09 pm

.. I told you that one week ago...
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4890
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:37 pm

the CHR platform uses an advanced Paravirtualized that is completely controlled by the hypervisor.
You can set different MAC address in guest OS even for vmxnet3 adapter. I have it like this with one CentOS guest. So it looks like artificial limitation in CHR.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:40 am

Because your old x86 platform used a generic e1000 interface.
Thats because of this file shares beyond VLANs broke availability every few second on CHR???

I saw on pfSence simple e1000 and it works ok with file shares beyond VLANs. But not in case with CHR!
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:42 am

your CHR should be using VMNET3 interfaces, not e1000.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:43 am

And my next question to support is:

"Hello,

But why i can change mac on old x86 Routers OS v 5.26, оn the same hypervisor planform?"

8)
and the answer from support:

"x86 RouterOS is completely different from CHR installation. "

MY NEXT QUESTION TU SUPPORT :D :

So why did you selling CHR that has no full features?
What else mey not working in CHR or working not correct (VLANs for example with file shares what lost of availability every few seconds )?
Did you have full list of that features?

And how can i change license from CHR to x86???
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:45 am

your CHR should be using VMNET3 interfaces, not e1000.
Yes i used it... and file shares beyond VLANs was lost availability every few seconds!

I understand... "it's not a bug, it's a feature!" (c) :D
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:47 am

maybe you should be sticking to pfSense.
I don't think you are going to get any sympathy here.
Most of us know and understand how each of the platforms work.
Each has a purpose, each has features and limits.

Clearly, changing a MAC address in the hypervisor has proven to be too much for you.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:50 am

obviously, you have done something wrong or you have defective hardware or a corrupt installation.
I have several dozen CHR's and four x86's. not a single one has any availability issues with VLAN.
Maybe your Hypervisor is configured wrong and it is not allowing the interfaces to be changed.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! HELP!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:56 am

maybe you should be sticking to pfSense.
I don't think you are going to get any sympathy here.
I don't want to use pfSense!!! I need to use Mikrotik!!! Thats why i bought CHR license!!!

I sold more than 100 Mikrotik routers in my city for last 6 years and i want to do it in the future. I don't need any pfsence... I need normal full featured and working product from Mikrotik!
Not that raw alpha CHR...
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:00 am

I'm not sure what you are looking for here.

You stated pfSense works and CHR doesn't.

You stated the CHR is alpha... yet we have thousands in production.

You asked how to change the MAC, we told you how.

What is it that you need to hear?
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:03 am

You already have an answer in this topic. Please try to do what others suggested.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:06 am

yet we have thousands in production.
Sorry, this is a weak argument! People spend money for raw product that works not correct yet!

What about incorrect work beyond VLANs?

I used esxi 5.5 and vmx3 adapters in CHR. What i am doing wrong?
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:09 am

You already have an answer in this topic. Please try to do what others suggested.
Thanks for answer! But i found another new feature or bug... i don't now.

What about broken shares beyond VLANs???

Is there any manual for CHR with VLANs? Yes they works, but they are lost availability every few seconds.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:19 am

Please either make a new topic about this other issue, or make a new support ticket. You started with inability to change MAC address. Now that you were told what you have to do, you have switched to another problem
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:50 am

Please either make a new topic about this other issue, or make a new support ticket. You started with inability to change MAC address. Now that you were told what you have to do, you have switched to another problem
ok
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:54 am

You already have an answer in this topic. Please try to do what others suggested.
About MAC changing on hypervisor side...

ESXi allow ONLY past 3 pair of MAC to change. Did you know about that?

Image

Or am i wrong?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:59 am

You already have an answer in this topic. Please try to do what others suggested.
About MAC changing on hypervisor side...

ESXi allow ONLY past 3 pair of MAC to change. Did you know about that?

Image

Or am i wrong?
https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... rnalId=507
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
IntrusDave
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 4:36 am
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 4:38 pm

The fact that you didn't know how to change the full MAC address tells us that you do not have knowledge or experience to be doing this anyway.
David Joyce
Network & Security Engineer
Intrus Technologies, LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:17 pm

The fact that you didn't know how to change the full MAC address tells us that you do not have knowledge or experience to be doing this anyway.
The fact that you can't tell right answer about VLAN problem with file shares' brokes on CHR tells ME that you do not have knowledge or experience to be doing this anyway. I'm not interesting your opinion about my knowledge of changing full mac or something else... at all!
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Sep 13, 2016 6:17 pm

You already have an answer in this topic. Please try to do what others suggested.
About MAC changing on hypervisor side...

ESXi allow ONLY past 3 pair of MAC to change. Did you know about that?

Image

Or am i wrong?
https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micro ... rnalId=507
Thank you!
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Thu Sep 15, 2016 9:21 pm

This issue might have been resolved but I'm curious to what the issue is/was.
I have a CHR at home with several VLAN and a NAS that works like a charm. No issues with VLAN or leaving a VLAN for that matter.
If you solved it how and what was the issue from the start? What share are we talking about? SMB, NFS?
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Oct 11, 2016 5:08 am

If you solved it how and what was the issue from the start? What share are we talking about? SMB, NFS?
We talking about Windows SMB.

I still trying to get right answer from support. I have shown them my configs. They they have no objections about it.
Support only says to change promiscuous mode in ESXi host to Allow all. I did it, but nothing changes...

Still waiting for help...
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:42 pm

If you solved it how and what was the issue from the start? What share are we talking about? SMB, NFS?
We talking about Windows SMB.

I still trying to get right answer from support. I have shown them my configs. They they have no objections about it.
Support only says to change promiscuous mode in ESXi host to Allow all. I did it, but nothing changes...

Still waiting for help...
OK I have no problem with this but I'm running it on a Hyper-V so not really related to your issue. Still don't understand the problem. Does the SMB Connection break at an interval or don't it work at all?
Can you get VLAN to work at all?
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:50 am

Does the SMB Connection break at an interval or don't it work at all?
Can you get VLAN to work at all?
Yes it works but unstable. If in the lan works few computers (less then 10) it works ok. I tested on weekend. But in working days then in the lan about 30 computers - share works unstable (break at an interval).
And at this time i don't see a big traffic...

Maybe i'll get simple router like RB951G and try to test without virtual environment at all.

Don't want to use pfsence... (
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:30 am

About file shares (smb).

We have a real GLOBAL bug, on all versions of RoutersOS. And VLANs are not that problem. I tested it on clean RB951G without any vlans - on eths with bridges. But the problem is apeers again!
The support can't help me. They want to build the model of situation. And... I tell them that a can't give tham that data because of the goverment security ) But i sad that you can come to my city for testing ) And the next - only silent from support )))

So... the bug is still exist. And I know what Mikrotik still not the decision in any cases... pity... :(
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:13 am

And... I tell them that a can't give tham that data because of the goverment security ) But i sad that you can come to my city for testing ) And the next - only silent from support )))

LOL. So you pay them a few bucks for a license (which works), and expect them to come to you? rotflmao
Regards,
Chris
 
pe1chl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5985
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:09 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:06 pm

MikroTik routers offer network interconnectivity at layer 3.
This means systems on one network can talk to systems on another network.
When you have problems with our application layer (SMB) you should consult someone who knows about the
details of deploying that application layer in a network. That cannot be the responsibility of MikroTik, they
provide the connectivity and it works OK, just like your power company provides you with the power for your
computers and cannot be bothered with these problems either.
SMB is not something that is magically going to work outside the LAN. You need to know how to do it.
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:05 am

What SMB server are you using? If Windows, what is the version? I have a hard time thinking this is a ROS issue as I have a SMB server at home (NAS) and I have no issues what so ever with SMB traffic.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:55 pm

the better and more "for the enterprise" is the hypervisor/virtualization management system - more limitations it has.

For example, Hyper-V will not allow passing of packets if MAC address is different from what is configured on the interface. It will also block all VLAN tagged packets. You have to configure that on your host and some of the things you have to configure through the power-shell as they are not available through the GUI.
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:42 pm

What SMB server are you using? If Windows, what is the version? I have a hard time thinking this is a ROS issue as I have a SMB server at home (NAS) and I have no issues what so ever with SMB traffic.
I'm using Windows Server 2003 R2 x64...
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:32 pm

What SMB server are you using? If Windows, what is the version? I have a hard time thinking this is a ROS issue as I have a SMB server at home (NAS) and I have no issues what so ever with SMB traffic.
I'm using Windows Server 2003 R2 x64...
Ok then you really need to upgrade. Not only because of lack off support and security patches but you can only use smbv1 and you really want to move away from that. If you use windows xp you won't see benefits of higher smb version but then you have other problems like you're using Windows XP ;)
If you do not want to buy new server version have a look at linux and samba. Will probably work a lot better then 2003 servers.
 
fbslim
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: CHR - can't change mac address! / File shares lost availability beyond VLANs!

Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:15 pm

The problem with samba shares was fixed.

The weak place was managed switch where vlans was configured.

1. Cable from internet with vlans was connected to that swich, with vlan configured on different posts.
2. Than from other port from switch it goes to lan port on server.

I took the internet cable and directly conect this to lan port on server! The problem was gone... :)

Why is what scheme witch swich was for... i don't understatd. It was from previous admin... creativity... :D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests