Community discussions

 
letthiswork1
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:47 am

CHR + ESXI 6 + 10GB NIc's

Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:12 am

HI Guys,

I have been experimenting with getting x86 platform working with Mikrotik.

I have a dell R630 originally running Mikrotik OS x86 but unfortunately it did not detect the Intel X710 Quad 10G nic.

I have since reverted to running ESXI 6.0 with Rounter OS CHR.

My problem is after installing the drivers on Vmware it detects the 4 10GB Fibre ports. I can create a virtual switch and the CHR detects the NIC ports but i cannot get a link to establish.
I am connecting to a CCR72 core on the other side it detects the send/receive but no link. I can seem to get a L3 going.

No ping or ARP is being detected.

Any ideas where i could be going wrong?

Thanks!
 
tibobo
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:54 am

Re: CHR + ESXI 6 + 10GB NIc's

Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:42 am

Strange, cause I'm running almost the same without issues for months.
Are you sure of your vSwitch configuration ?
I would try with a single port first between the R630 and the CCR1072.
If you use VLANs check that your virtual port group matches it.
Do not tag on the 1072 with service tag, ESX might not understand it.
If you want all vlans on the port group use vlan 4095 in the port group definition, it will basically give you a trunk interface for your CHR, so you can tag in the CHR.
 
letthiswork1
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:47 am

Re: CHR + ESXI 6 + 10GB NIc's

Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:22 am

Strange, cause I'm running almost the same without issues for months.
Are you sure of your vSwitch configuration ?
I would try with a single port first between the R630 and the CCR1072.
If you use VLANs check that your virtual port group matches it.
Do not tag on the 1072 with service tag, ESX might not understand it.
If you want all vlans on the port group use vlan 4095 in the port group definition, it will basically give you a trunk interface for your CHR, so you can tag in the CHR.
Thanks for you reply!

Firstly the 1GB ports work fine its only the 10G

I will double check the vSwitch configuration. I haven't added any Vlans since its just a 1:1 port mapping. So the Vlan ID is just 1.
Screenshot of config -

Nic's
https://gyazo.com/241a1c67a6bf293278fdde97a68c93f9

Vswitch
https://gyazo.com/62c9a1d3a1ae57e6d13a09bfe68270fc

Port Group
https://gyazo.com/e29df9129d481956402bfa35bf15c39c

CHR NIC's
https://gyazo.com/10f0ff990195772d0c47adee976714e4

The CHR OS detects the SFP port so i would imagine it should work but when i patch in the fibre there is no Link light on the 10G NIC which concerns me.
I have tried different fibre cables, Diff SFP both Mirkotik and Intel.

Very Strnage
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CHR + ESXI 6 + 10GB NIc's

Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:18 am

what is on the other end. is your host OS able to establish the link? RouterOS sees SFP as plain ethernet. The rest of the magic is done by the module itself.
 
pjulian
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: CHR + ESXI 6 + 10GB NIc's

Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:37 pm

I know this is an old post but I am having similar issues as you did, did you get this configuration working ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests