Page 1 of 1

Failed to request a trial license

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:38 pm
by music4
I'm trying to request a trial license from a CHR VM, but I always got error "could not resolve dns name".

Is the CHR license service hosted on google? It's a known issue that google is walled from China. Can anybody tell me FQDN of the license server? Maybe I can add a static DNS entry in the CHR.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Failed to request a trial license

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:44 pm
by normis
CHR is not hosted in Google, but in Latvia. You need to be able to resolve licence.mikrotik.com from your Router (try to ping this domain)

Re: Failed to request a trial license

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:01 pm
by music4
CHR is not hosted in Google, but in Latvia. You need to be able to resolve licence.mikrotik.com from your Router (try to ping this domain)
Yeah, I have figured out the issue. Because I disabled all UDP traffics on IP firewall. After I disabled the 'drop udp' package rule from firewall, license renew succeeded.

So my follow up question is, will CHR keep contacting the license server? Should I enable certain UDP port on firewall?

Re: Failed to request a trial license

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:50 am
by anmateo
Hi all, I am in the same situation:

I have my paid P1 license for CHR. When i was trying to activate it, I always get that "ERROR: could not resolve dns name". But I do resolve licence.mikrotik.com from my Router (i can ping it)

I normally have a Firewall rule that drop all in the input chain (i have another previuos rule for granting access for my well known origins). I tried disabling that rule, and then it worked fine and the Licence get activated.

BUT: i really want to keep the input drop rule. But i suppose that if i keep this rule activated, the router is not being able to contact the license service, and when Deadline comes in two months... i will be fuc*ed

Do we have to put a specific rule in the firewall to let the license service work?

Thank you in advance