Community discussions

 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Adding more vCPUs increases latency

Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:31 am

Hello

Today I tried p-unlimited trial in VM and found out that when I add more than 1 vCPU latency skyrockets. With 1 vCPU I have 0.7 ms ping to edge router. However after increasing to 4 vCPUs ping dropped to above 9 ms (over 10 times). I trid it multiple times and it's reproducible. I'm using VirtualBox under linux host. Could somebody test it in VBox on another machine or with different hypervisor? It's hard to tell for me whether it's problem with CHR ROS or VBox.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Adding more vCPUs increases latency

Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:31 am

Which version?

Which kind of ethernet interface did you set in VirtualBox under Advanced settings?
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Adding more vCPUs increases latency

Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:45 am

Which version?

Which kind of ethernet interface did you set in VirtualBox under Advanced settings?
virtio, KVM paravirtualization. VirtualBox 5.0.2
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
User avatar
pukkita
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 2982
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:09 am
Location: Spain

Re: Adding more vCPUs increases latency

Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:53 am

Ok.

ROS version? Unless you are more specific it won't be possible to reproduce your results...
Simplicity is the Ultimate Sophistication - Da Vinci
Getting the most out of this forum
 
User avatar
lapsio
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: Adding more vCPUs increases latency

Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:03 am

Ok.

ROS version? Unless you are more specific it won't be possible to reproduce your results...
Bugfix. I downloaded it like 4h ago xD I doubt they updated since then. 6.37.5. VDI image

Other info:
2 interfaces (gw and lan), both bridged with host OS bridges - brwan and brvm.
Functional vm bridged with brvm. brwan bridged with actual gateway interface in host.
512mb ram, 1 or 4 vCPUs, no soundcard, no USB, no shared folders, 12mb gpu mem, no 3d acceleration, no PAE, no encryption. VT-x and nested paging enabled.

ROS mostly vanilla I only added addresses to interfaces and masquerade on gw interface. Everything else vanilla - no firewall. Nothing.
/system profile was showing 0% of everything.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest