Page 1 of 1

CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:50 am
by th0massin0
0. RouterOS >= 6.42rc52
1. Boot VPS to rescue mode from OVH panel.
2. Login via ssh.
3. Execute this TWO lines:
cd /root && curl -O https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros/6.42.3/chr-6.42.3.img.zip && gunzip -S .zip chr-6.42.3.img.zip && umount /mnt/sdb1
dd if=/root/chr-6.42.3.img of=/dev/sdb
4. Reboot from OVH panel, done!

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:37 pm
by Chupaka
Have you tried to dd already installed image from some other VM?

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:41 pm
by th0massin0
Thank you for your answer. Even if it would work, that configuration will be unsupported, so if something will goes wrong, nobody could help me with it.
CHR is relatively young product that should be 'polished' in the matter of compatibility (in my opinion open vm tools and drivers). Today the general-use distros offers better compatibility with vm enviorment than specialized cloud mikrotik solution.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:27 pm
by Chupaka
Unsupported by whom? OVH won't support any CHR installation, I think. MikroTik doesn't care - it's just like moving the disk to another machine. If it works - you're just lucky.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Sun May 21, 2017 1:52 pm
by roulyz
Just run this command.
PS : check your interface name before apply. here the interface name is : "ens3". Change according yours :D

wget https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros ... .1.img.zip -O chr.img.zip && \
gunzip -c chr.img.zip > chr.img && \
mount -o loop,offset=33554944 chr.img /mnt && \
ADDRESS=`ip addr show ens3 | grep global | cut -d' ' -f 6 | head -n 1` && \
GATEWAY=`ip route list | grep default | cut -d' ' -f 3` && \
echo "/ip address add address=$ADDRESS interface=[/interface ethernet find where name=ether1]
/ip route add gateway=$GATEWAY
" > /mnt/rw/autorun.scr && \
umount /mnt && \
echo u > /proc/sysrq-trigger && \
dd if=chr.img bs=1024 of=/dev/vda

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:40 pm
by th0massin0
Just run this command.
PS : check your interface name before apply. here the interface name is : "ens3". Change according yours :D

wget https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros ... .1.img.zip -O chr.img.zip && \
gunzip -c chr.img.zip > chr.img && \
mount -o loop,offset=33554944 chr.img /mnt && \
ADDRESS=`ip addr show ens3 | grep global | cut -d' ' -f 6 | head -n 1` && \
GATEWAY=`ip route list | grep default | cut -d' ' -f 3` && \
echo "/ip address add address=$ADDRESS interface=[/interface ethernet find where name=ether1]
/ip route add gateway=$GATEWAY
" > /mnt/rw/autorun.scr && \
umount /mnt && \
echo u > /proc/sysrq-trigger && \
dd if=chr.img bs=1024 of=/dev/vda
Could you tell me what is the purpose of that manual? The problem is lack of (v)hard disk controller driver.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:57 pm
by Chupaka
So, it lacks the driver in whole RouterOS or only in CHR Image Installer?

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:46 pm
by savage
There has been some posts floating around on the forum about converting the IDE disk to SCSI, and making it work that way with a few more different type of setups.

search a bit, perhaps theyll work for you :)

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:15 pm
by drbunsen
Some time ago I've tried to install CHR on a Hetzner VPS, unfortunately I ran into exactly the same issue.
It would be nice if Mikrotik could support virtio SCSI storage controllers as well.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:56 am
by Wencey
i use bandwagon and i meet the same issue.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:33 am
by raffav
Hello
I am trying to install CHR on VPS OVH SSD from raw image (recovery mode and dd).
cd /root
curl -O http://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros/6.38.5/chr-6.38.5.img.zip
gunzip -S .zip chr-6.38.5.img.zip
umount /mnt/sdb1
dd if=/root/chr-6.38.5.img of=/dev/sdb

After reboot RouterOS won't boot. I attach screen from console. Aprox. one year ago OVH config was able to run CHR, today is not.
I am aware that some kind of VirtIO problems was fixed in 6.31, but please keep in mind, that I am trying to use 6.38.5.
Please help

PS: Info about SCSI controller from lspci:
00:04.0 SCSI storage controller: Red Hat, Inc Virtio SCSI
        Subsystem: Red Hat, Inc Device 0008
        Physical Slot: 4
        Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx+
        Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR- <PERR- INTx-
        Latency: 0
        Interrupt: pin A routed to IRQ 11
        Region 0: I/O ports at c000 [size=64]
        Region 1: Memory at febd2000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
        Capabilities: [40] MSI-X: Enable+ Count=4 Masked-
                Vector table: BAR=1 offset=00000000
                PBA: BAR=1 offset=00000800
        Kernel driver in use: virtio-pci
        Kernel modules: virtio_pci
Simillar problem:
viewtopic.php?t=99793
viewtopic.php?t=104948


Update:
I've prabobly found main couse of the failure. Error occurs only when guest disk bus type is set to SCSI (<target dev='sda' bus='scsi'/>).
Settings that works: VirtIO, IDE, SATA.


Update (2), news from Mikrotik support:
RouterOS does not support SCSI disk installation(..)

Update (3), news from OVH Support:
There are no possibility to change VPS config, nor buy VPS from older region.



Dear Mikrotik Developers, could you please fix this?
In case of OVH VPS SSD (and many more budget VPSes) it's impossible to modify guest config details.


Edit: another request, viewtopic.php?f=15&t=124905&p=626094#p626094

hi
i think ramnode support ide driver
look at attachments
Untitled.png

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:34 am
by th0massin0
Looks promissing. Thank you!

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:14 am
by raffav
Looks promissing. Thank you!
Hi,
Do you know if is possible to try this on openvps instead of kvm?
Because in ramnode there is a vpz small one that cost 15 dollars yearly, very cheap
@th0massin0
Edited
DIT

worked thanks allot
Untitled.png
Enviado de meu XT1580 usando Tapatalk

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:25 am
by th0massin0
CHR can run only in full virtualization like vmware, kvm, xen or hyper-v

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:06 pm
by raffav
CHR can run only in full virtualization like vmware, kvm, xen or hyper-v
Was a little pain in the ass to find a Linux on the ramnode repository that work smoth in 512mb and since I don't have skills on Linux I need to do some research how formart a disk via command line,
After some live cd crash, freezes i maked work



Enviado de meu XT1580 usando Tapatalk


Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:29 pm
by odvolk
Was a little pain in the ass to find a Linux on the ramnode repository that work smoth in 512mb and since I don't have skills on Linux I need to do some research how formart a disk via command line,
After some live cd crash, freezes i maked work
Hi! I wanted to know how could you manage with this? Can you bring some instructions on this? We bought an "VPS 2016 SSD 1" @ OVH.com and we are suffering some ass f***k with their system. Please, help us

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:15 am
by dadag90
0. RouterOS >= 6.42rc52
1. Boot VPS to rescue mode from OVH panel.
2. Login via ssh.
3. Execute this TWO lines:
cd /root && curl -O https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros/6.42.3/chr-6.42.3.img.zip && gunzip -S .zip chr-6.42.3.img.zip && umount /mnt/sdb1
dd if=/root/chr-6.42.3.img of=/dev/sdb
4. Reboot from OVH panel, done!
I install CHR yesterday (30.07.2018). I must change sdb into vdb
cd /root && curl -O https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros/6.42.3/chr-6.42.3.img.zip && gunzip -S .zip chr-6.42.3.img.zip && umount /mnt/vdb1
dd if=/root/chr-6.42.3.img of=/dev/vdb

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:50 pm
by inframe
how to update this CHR to the new version?

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:15 pm
by drbunsen
Update is as with any other Mikrotik device. Upload the image (x86 for CHR) and reboot.

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:45 pm
by inframe
Update is as with any other Mikrotik device. Upload the image (x86 for CHR) and reboot.
Thank you! Download image x86 and updated my CHR :roll:

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 4:21 pm
by Joni
cd /root && curl -O https://download2.mikrotik.com/routeros/6.42.3/chr-6.42.3.img.zip && gunzip -S .zip chr-6.42.3.img.zip
dd if=/root/chr-6.42.3.img of=/dev/sda
Tried this on Hetzner dedicated (bare metal, EX series, I know bm isn't officially supported) however everything except routing (public ip subnets, ie forwarding) work, at least I can't get it working with any config. Sort of sad. (neither 6.40.9 (Bugfix only) or 6.42.7 (Current) or 6.43rc66 (Release candidate))

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:41 pm
by Chupaka
Please open a new topic and describe what exactly does not work. It's either working completely or not. It cannot 'disable routing for some unknown reason'. Where do you get your "public subnets"? Can't Hetzner block unknown IPs by default (it should, I hope)?

Re: CHR on OVH VPS SSD

Posted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:23 pm
by Joni