Community discussions

 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:32 am

Hi ,I installed CHR on ESXi 6 and activate the license unlimited and everything was ok until a week ago ,everyday the CHR stopped working and when i see the event i got message "The CPU has been disable by the guest operating system " so what can I do for that problem ,please help
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:08 pm

any idea for that problem ?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8318
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:13 pm

So, what's in Log after you reboot the machine?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:39 pm

well, if u mean log in mikrotik CHR well there's nothing because i reset the CHR and before reset CHR is like freezing !! and on ESXi also nothing say and work again like nothing happend !! its realy confusing !
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8318
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:00 pm

there's nothing because
Is it what you think or what you saw?

Also, what version do you use?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:04 pm

for first time i used 6.39 and still the problem and before 2 days ago upgraded the routerOS to 6.42.6 and still same problem , and saw nothing in log !
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:32 pm

anyone can help me !?
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:37 pm

is it CHR not compatible with ESXi 6 ?
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4783
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:10 pm

I don't know if it's your case, but I've seen CHR stopping when it didn't have enough memory. I originally had VMs with 128MB, but CHR got a little bit more hungry over the time.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jul 30, 2018 3:37 pm

is it CHR not compatible with ESXi 6 ?
CHR is certainly compatible with ESXi 6 and 6.5(u2).

You must surely have some log files purporting to this?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:11 pm

I don't know if it's your case, but I've seen CHR stopping when it didn't have enough memory. I originally had VMs with 128MB, but CHR got a little bit more hungry over the time.
well i don't have any problem with memory only cpu and disabled for unknown reason to me !! thanks for your answer
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:13 pm

is it CHR not compatible with ESXi 6 ?
CHR is certainly compatible with ESXi 6 and 6.5(u2).

You must surely have some log files purporting to this?
that's my real problem only that log the "The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system" i have so and i don't know why cpu disabled !
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:21 am

Don't know if this will help but have you read this?
https://support.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public ... -c00653544
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:22 am

When you say you have just installed CHR, do you mean you’ve used the premade OVA from MikroTik or you have used an ISO to install or how have you done it?

Googleing the problem refers you to the VMware help center and the general consensus is it is caused by a kernel panic in the guest.

So how have you deployed it?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:43 pm

Don't know if this will help but have you read this?
https://support.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public ... -c00653544
well thanks ,but no not helping
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:45 pm

When you say you have just installed CHR, do you mean you’ve used the premade OVA from MikroTik or you have used an ISO to install or how have you done it?

Googleing the problem refers you to the VMware help center and the general consensus is it is caused by a kernel panic in the guest.

So how have you deployed it?
deployed as OVA from mikortik ,is that effect on cpu and may be disable it ?
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:11 pm

How many CPU's are you assigning to the CHR installation? What happens if you set just 1?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:53 pm

How many CPU's are you assigning to the CHR installation? What happens if you set just 1?
CPU is 32 and ram 8G ,i didn't try 1 CPU cause i have more than 1 Gbps traffic
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:36 pm

ESXi on the free license will only allow up to 8 vCPUs, have you paid for ESXi? Usually ESXi would not start the VM and tell you to pay for it but maybe you’re getting a weird behaviour?

How many CPUs are you allocating?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:34 pm

ESXi on the free license will only allow up to 8 vCPUs, have you paid for ESXi? Usually ESXi would not start the VM and tell you to pay for it but maybe you’re getting a weird behaviour?

How many CPUs are you allocating?
yes i already paid for ESXi and CHR
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1110
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sat Aug 11, 2018 7:52 pm

If you run maybe 2 cores do any get disabled?
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
laith7s
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:27 pm

If you run maybe 2 cores do any get disabled?
well i didn't try for 2 core ,i used to 32 core and get disabled don't know why and seems mikrotik also didn't have a solutions !
 
videnov
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:56 am

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:06 pm

We are hit with the same problem: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system. 4 times in the last week or so.

Is there any way to get the kernel panic message?
 
Kindis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:01 am

Many do this and send to mikrotik. So they can troubleshoot.

https://kb.vmware.com/articleview?docid=2000542
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Sep 24, 2018 1:24 pm

I also face this problem for few last days. Chr 6.43.2 in vmware workstation with 1cpu /2cores in virtual host is once per day switched of because of this. At the moment I have removed one core hoping that the ros will not try to disable the last core it has.

Is there a ticket created at mikrotik for this? Has anyone got any response from support?
 
dmayan
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 9:28 pm

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:32 pm

Same problem here on 6.42.9

1 gbps of traffic. ESXI 6.7 with vCenter.

2 Cores and 512mb of RAM

Any words from Mikrotik?

thanks
 
schadom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:47 am
Location: Austria

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:36 pm

We've encountered this particular error message already with other VMs after kernel panics occurred. As a workaround, you could try to edit the CPUID mask settings and check if the CHR-VM might boot again: https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphe ... 78CEA.html
 
msandon
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:50 am

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Wed Apr 10, 2019 5:00 pm

Hi,
I am facing the same problem.
I set up the CHR router by following this guide: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CHR .
I have a licensed VMware and a CHR with P1 license. After having used it for 4 days it freezed without showing any log. VMware only displayed "The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system".
The CHR has 2 CPU, 4GB RAM and 4GB disk storage. 6.43.13 is the version of VMware disk image.

Did someone find any solution to this problem?
Have I set up the machine with wrong parameters?

Thanks
 
karwos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:11 pm

Guys, disable conn tracking and problem will gone.
It's been known for a long time. It dies once DDOS kicks in. They not fixed that, but I can confirm disabling conntracks not causing CPU to go offline and machine halt.
 
msandon
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:50 am

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:59 am

Guys, disable conn tracking and problem will gone.
It's been known for a long time. It dies once DDOS kicks in. They not fixed that, but I can confirm disabling conntracks not causing CPU to go offline and machine halt.
If disabling conn tracking will disable NAT, what kind of router is it??
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8318
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:58 pm

If disabling conn tracking will disable NAT, what kind of router is it??
A router without NAT is definitely not a home router :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
alex_rhys-hurn
Member
Member
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:26 pm
Location: Kenya
Contact:

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:32 pm

Hi,

I recommend taking a look at your vswitch and physical switch architecture. Be clear about your trunks and any spanning tree issues.

Try out the options with promiscuous mode on the vswitches, and esp on the physcial host interfaces.

Make sure to use VMXNET3 interfaces and drivers. Understand clearly about using vlan 4096 in esxi for trunk ports.

I have vsphere 6.5 with 6 CHRs doing BGP, OSPF IP Transit ipv4 and v6 and have NEVER seen this. We have been doing this since 2017.

Our routers are connected via ESXI trunks to external physical switches which we use as port extenders to the CHR, and then connect to Transit providers from there.

And yes, we have conntrack turned on, and we have also had to handle DDOS situations, but never seen the VM crash.

Also the IPArchitechs guys have run some big labs like this with 10g and I am not aware of them seeing the issue (correct me if Im wrong).

Salaams,

Alex
 
msandon
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:50 am

Re: The CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system

Mon Jun 17, 2019 11:36 am

Hi,

I recommend taking a look at your vswitch and physical switch architecture. Be clear about your trunks and any spanning tree issues.

Try out the options with promiscuous mode on the vswitches, and esp on the physcial host interfaces.

Make sure to use VMXNET3 interfaces and drivers. Understand clearly about using vlan 4096 in esxi for trunk ports.

I have vsphere 6.5 with 6 CHRs doing BGP, OSPF IP Transit ipv4 and v6 and have NEVER seen this. We have been doing this since 2017.

Our routers are connected via ESXI trunks to external physical switches which we use as port extenders to the CHR, and then connect to Transit providers from there.

And yes, we have conntrack turned on, and we have also had to handle DDOS situations, but never seen the VM crash.

Also the IPArchitechs guys have run some big labs like this with 10g and I am not aware of them seeing the issue (correct me if Im wrong).

Salaams,

Alex
Hi Alex,
Thank you for your reply. You are the only one that really helps me.

Regards,

Matt

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests