Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:31 am

need help!

I installed CHR on proxmox, everything was ok.

the machine is Dell PowerEdge T420, with SFP + intel X520-DA2 board

proxmox identified the intel X520 card when I give the command
#sudo ethtool enp20f0 | grep speed
show 10000Mb / s
but at CHR in ethernet auto negotiation is incomplete, rate unknown

I already took the auto negotiation, but it is the same

I'm licensed free for now, will it be because of the license being free?
on proxmox, I left netowork device virtio on the VM that is CHR,
when I leave E1000, it's 1Gbps in CHR, but it's not 10G

if anyone can help me, I will be very grateful!

sorry my inlges, I'm from Brazil
Thanks
 
oskarsk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 9:41 am

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:00 am

Please check the limitations for the CHR licenses.
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CHR#CHR_Licensing
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:14 pm

OK,
so I just buy the P10 license, and will it negotiate 10G on ethernet?
never used mikrotik chr, just CCR boxes and some wireless router board
I was delighted to buy the license and the problem is not that, so I asked here.

thanks
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1032
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:15 pm

CHR's virtio/vmxnet3 based interfaces seem to always show "Auto Negotiation: Incomplete | Rate: Unknown".
License doesn't matter. You can try it yourself with a P10 demo license and it will still show Incomplete/Unknown.

Regardless of the negotiation status, it does actually work at 10Gbit.
Last edited by Cha0s on Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:05 pm

Regardless of the negotiation status, it does actually work at 10Gbit.
thanks for this info
I was going to get into trouble after buying the license and keep it up! kkk

enjoying, Do you recommend I leave the interface in virtio, or E1000?
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1032
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:39 pm

Virtio
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

Re: proxmox 6.1 with chr - ethernet speed problem

Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:56 am

After some studies and research, I just got it!
"Rate: 10G" is now appearing

What did I do!?!?!

I have enabled the option "PCI PASSTHROUGH" on proxmox
more information see here:
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Pci_passthrough

This way the SFP + card works dedicated to the VM that is running CHR, the interface is not part of the vmbr bridge.

I haven't done troughput tests yet, as soon as I do, post here.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests