Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

CHR with Proxmox does not pass 10Gb

Tue Aug 04, 2020 4:58 pm

I installed CHR on Proxmox 6.2
I created 2 VMs, with CHR on both.
I added an Intel X520-2 PCIe NIC card with two SFP + ports, proxmox recognized the card's driver, CHR too.
I configured the Proxmox option PCI PASSTHROUGH, leaving an SFP + port for CHR1 and another SFP + port for CHR2.
Okay, everything working!

Problem:
When I connect CHR1 to CHR2 by Gbic 10Gb and test by Btest, no more than 2.2Gb/s

Detail:
I also have a proxmox bridge interface (vmbr0), I added it on CHR1 and CHR2, and when I test it, it passes 4Gb/s

My question:
Why in SFP + only travels 2.2Gb / s and it is 10Gbs?
Why does the proxmox local bridge interface travel 4Gb/s?

Is the problem with Proxmox?
If I use VMWare, will it be able to travel 10Gb/s?
Or is the problem with the NIC card driver or firmware?
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1316
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: CHR with Proxmox does not pass 10Gb

Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:29 pm

Have you disabled hyperthreading in the BIOS of the host?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Español | Serbian | Danish +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/ecosystem/mikr ... consulting mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

Re: CHR with Proxmox does not pass 10Gb

Wed Aug 05, 2020 2:01 am

Have you disabled hyperthreading in the BIOS of the host?
Yes, I desabled Hyper-Threading (HT) processor.

I followed these recommendations:
  • try use 'PCI passthrough' for NIC (ROs probably will not detect NIC's due to missing drivers)
  • use 'host' CPU instead of kvm64
  • disable PVE 'firewall' for virtual network devices
  • use Virtio devices (disk and network) to have full integration with PVE
  • use 'write back' for disk
  • use one socket for CHR VM
  • play with CPU flags, try remove 'hpet' from CHR VM (via CPU args)
  • disable 'tablet for pointer'
  • separate networks for admin purposes and for main traffic
  • disable Hyper-Threading (HT) processor
 
frednks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Brasil

Re: CHR with Proxmox does not pass 10Gb

Wed Aug 05, 2020 7:05 pm

Get it resolved!!!!

The problem was in the firmware of the Intel X520-2 NIC card, after I update the firmware this is passing 8Gb.
I know that the port is 10Gb, that the correct thing would be to spend 10Gb, however I am already satisfied for the time being with this result of 8Gb.

Another thing that may be limiting is that I am using 2 cores per CHR.

Thank you for your help!
PS .: How do I put this topic as resolved?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests