Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mekkoli
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:24 pm

chr and vlans on virtualbox at schools during covid lockdown

Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:59 pm

from italy
i am a networking teacher in iti enrico fermi modena, an high school (students from 16 to 19)

at school we have about 60 mikrotik hap ac lite and with our students test successfully vlans from 2018.

during lockdown we work with students at home with chr and virtualbox using internal networks to connect 2 chr with the same vlans confs as hap hw devices but only 2 test on about 60 were successful and the others do not run as espected (do not ping at all).
more and more attempts to understand why but now we only have this RUNNING conf on alice and bob chr devices on virtualbox:
-----------------------
# sep/07/2020 14:59:38 by RouterOS 6.45.8
# software id =
#
#
#
/interface bridge
add name=aliceBr vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=\
10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-full speed=1Gbps
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether4
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether2 pvid=20
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether3 pvid=30
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether2 vlan-ids=20
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether3 vlan-ids=30
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.11.1
/system identity
set name=alice
-----------------------
Image
but we cannot restore this running confs on some other couple of chr with more different chr version and from export files or backup files.

can you help us ?
thanks marco mescoli
 
User avatar
IPAsupport
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: chr and vlans on virtualbox at schools during covid lockdown

Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:28 am

Hi Marco, before saying anything about the MikroTik config, will you share with us the configuration of the VM in Virtual Box?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
mekkoli
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:24 pm

Re: chr and vlans on virtualbox at schools during covid lockdown

Tue Sep 08, 2020 8:54 pm

thanks :-)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1U9LqP- ... sp=sharing

this is the network scheme to the students tested in paste years on mikrotik hw running always smooth where are also declared virtualbox internal nets used this year with chr and two linux minimal client vms with this network conf:
h1: 1.1.1.1/24, h2: 1.1.1.2/24
- on mikrotik hw: with active reciprocal ping if phisical hosts are in the same vlan they ping on different vlan do not ping: (change cable eth port.)
- on virtualbox chr and h1, h2 : in 2 cases all goes well in the other about 60 do not ping each other also on the same vlan: (change virtualbox internal net)
in the two good cases of vms chr the conf exported as .rsc or .backup restored in other resetted chr do not run.
 
User avatar
IPAsupport
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: chr and vlans on virtualbox at schools during covid lockdown

Wed Sep 09, 2020 1:07 am

That's cool, now I will like to see a screenshot of the VMs config and probably you can paste the MikroTik config here also?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
mekkoli
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:24 pm

Re: chr and vlans on virtualbox at schools during covid lockdown

Wed Sep 09, 2020 7:14 pm

ok !
in this image one of the 2 on 60 running and mikTik alice conf
virtualVlansOk.png
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hyDnVY ... sp=sharing

# sep/09/2020 16:04:20 by RouterOS 6.45.8
# software id =
#
#
#
/interface bridge
add name=aliceBr vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] advertise=10M-half,10M-full,100M-half,100M-full,1000M-full speed=1Gbps
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether4
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether2 pvid=20
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether3 pvid=30
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether2 vlan-ids=20
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether3 vlan-ids=30
/ip dhcp-client
add dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.11.1
/system identity
set name=alice


in this image one of the about 60 fails and mikTik alice conf
virtualVlansFail.png
https://drive.google.com/file/d/19kZOoG ... sp=sharing

# sep/09/2020 16:06:29 by RouterOS 6.47.3
# software id =
#
#
#
/interface bridge
add name=aliceBr vlan-filtering=yes
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,password,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romo\
n,dude,tikapp"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether4
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether2 pvid=20
add bridge=aliceBr interface=ether3 pvid=30
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=!dynamic
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether2 vlan-ids=20
add bridge=aliceBr tagged=ether4 untagged=ether3 vlan-ids=30
/ip dhcp-client
add disabled=no interface=ether1
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.11.1
/system identity
set name=alice

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest