Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
PepeOnAchair
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:28 pm

CHR: number of CPUs limited to 64?

Thu Oct 29, 2020 4:07 pm

Hello,

I have dual socket server with two AMD Epyc 7742 processors, so it has 128 physical cores available with HT disabled. I`m running Proxmox 6.2-12 on it with just one VM with Mikrotik CHR (6.47.7). The problem is that I can`t see more than 64 CPUs in CHR. Is it some reasonable limit with the number of CPUs? For example CCR1072 has 72 cores...

Thank you
Pep.
 
Kindis
Member
Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 6:54 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CHR: number of CPUs limited to 64?

Thu Nov 05, 2020 3:28 pm

So each socket has 64 cores and each CPU is it's on NUMA node if my memory is correct. So if you want to use more then 64 cores you have to use more then one socket.

How have you configured CPU on the VM the CHR is running on?
 
PepeOnAchair
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: CHR: number of CPUs limited to 64?

Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:29 pm

Hello.
One CPU Epyc 7742 has 64 cores. In physical server two CPUs in two sockets mounted.
Mikrotik CHR VM in Proxmox has this settings: Processors 128 (2 sockets, 64cores) (EPYC-Rome)
But Mikrotik can see only 64 cores:

BTW I`m running it on Proxmox 6-3-3 and ROS 6.48.1 now

[admin@MikroTik] > system resource cpu print brief
# CPU LOAD IRQ D
0 cpu0 0% 0%
1 cpu1 0% 0%
2 cpu2 0% 0%
3 cpu3 0% 0%
4 cpu4 0% 0%
5 cpu5 0% 0%
6 cpu6 0% 0%
7 cpu7 0% 0%
8 cpu8 0% 0%
9 cpu9 0% 0%
10 cpu10 0% 0%
11 cpu11 0% 0%
12 cpu12 0% 0%
13 cpu13 0% 0%
14 cpu14 0% 0%
15 cpu15 0% 0%
16 cpu16 0% 0%
17 cpu17 0% 0%
18 cpu18 0% 0%
19 cpu19 0% 0%
20 cpu20 0% 0%
21 cpu21 0% 0%
22 cpu22 0% 0%
23 cpu23 0% 0%
24 cpu24 0% 0%
25 cpu25 0% 0%
26 cpu26 0% 0%
27 cpu27 0% 0%
28 cpu28 0% 0%
29 cpu29 0% 0%
30 cpu30 0% 0%
31 cpu31 0% 0%
32 cpu32 0% 0%
33 cpu33 0% 0%
34 cpu34 0% 0%
35 cpu35 0% 0%
36 cpu36 0% 0%
37 cpu37 0% 0%
38 cpu38 0% 0%
39 cpu39 0% 0%
40 cpu40 0% 0%
41 cpu41 0% 0%
42 cpu42 0% 0%
43 cpu43 0% 0%
44 cpu44 0% 0%
45 cpu45 0% 0%
46 cpu46 0% 0%
47 cpu47 0% 0%
48 cpu48 0% 0%
49 cpu49 0% 0%
50 cpu50 0% 0%
51 cpu51 0% 0%
52 cpu52 0% 0%
53 cpu53 0% 0%
54 cpu54 0% 0%
55 cpu55 0% 0%
56 cpu56 0% 0%
57 cpu57 0% 0%
58 cpu58 0% 0%
59 cpu59 0% 0%
60 cpu60 0% 0%
61 cpu61 0% 0%
62 cpu62 0% 0%
63 cpu63 0% 0%
[admin@MikroTik] >

P.
 
swang2002
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:41 pm

Re: CHR: number of CPUs limited to 64?

Fri Jul 30, 2021 2:14 pm

Have you used this in a production environment? Curious what performance you've seen under load?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests