Community discussions

 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

kvm package in 3.26

Thu Jul 16, 2009 6:10 am

Has anyone tested kvm in 3.26?
/kvm

Mikrotik, is this implementation of this:
http://www.linux-kvm.org/page/Main_Page

I can start the vm (status=running) but when I go to /kvm console I can't seem to get any output. In /system resource print the "free-memory" does decrease when starting the vm, and increase when the vm is stopped (expected behavior). How else can I get to the console of the kvm vm?

Thanks for adding this package, I've been using KVM on my workstation linux and it's working great. Glad to see another VM solution aside from Xen.
Doug
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Mikrotik please? is there a wiki on this? Please help me, it's a package in RouterOS; how the hell do you expect people to use it without documentation?

Please help me!!! Why can't i seem to get this working?!
Doug
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:36 am

here is the link to wiki:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Kvm
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24190
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:37 am

Mikrotik please? is there a wiki on this? Please help me, it's a package in RouterOS; how the hell do you expect people to use it without documentation?

Please help me!!! Why can't i seem to get this working?!
Panic attack?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:55 am

Thanks for the wiki on kvm.

Virtualization on Mikrotik is a really cool concept. I'm excited to get it working.
Doug
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8308
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 5:37 pm

here is the link to wiki:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Kvm
Packages required: kvm system
kvm?.. maybe, xen?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:50 pm

here is the link to wiki:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Kvm
Packages required: kvm system
kvm?.. maybe, xen?..
Xen only works with linux and kernels that can be "recompiled" with Xen support.

KVM uses the modern CPU's hardware virtualization, enabling any guest (Windows, Linux, another Mikrotik).

Just a side note: most major linux distros are now switching to KVM for their official support virtualization solution.
Doug
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8308
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:03 pm

I mean, where's 'kvm' package? ;)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:28 am

I mean, where's 'kvm' package? ;)
It's in the x86 ISO image of 3.26 x86 and above. I was unable to find it in the All packages, Combined packge, or Virtualization package download for x86 through.
Doug
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8308
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:52 am

thanks, I found it in ISO ))

MT Staff, why so hidden place? )))

p.s. is 'stpbridge-legacy-4.0.npk' still needed?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24190
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:50 am

thanks, I found it in ISO ))

MT Staff, why so hidden place? )))

p.s. is 'stpbridge-legacy-4.0.npk' still needed?..
Sorry for that. It's here:

http://mikrotik.com/download/kvm-4.0.npk
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: kvm package in 3.26

Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:28 pm

if you want bridge that supports stp only, then you need that package. other-way - just don't use it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests