Community discussions

 
VBM
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:01 pm

KVM and virtual Mikrotik problem

Tue Aug 04, 2009 4:55 pm

Hello,

Im running QEMU PC emulator version 0.9.1 (kvm-84) on my host i found a strange problem with running Mikrotik as virtual machine (v3.24) on my virtual MT i have two interfaces running for testing there are bridged everything is running fine (on low traffic under 1-2mbps) but problem occures when i try to switch network traffic (over 60mbps) to it network interface just hangs i found that resolution to this problem is to connect to the MT by the vnc (console) and simple disable/enable hanged interface. Does anybody have idea what can be the problem ?.

Linux interfaces:
br0 : eth1 vr1
br1 : eth2 vr2

MT interfaces:
bridge1: ether1(vr1) ether2(vr2)

ps. sure i know that i can bridge eth1 and eth2 interfaces together but thats not an idea (bridge in MT is only for testing)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8308
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: KVM and virtual Mikrotik problem

Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:35 pm

did you try 3.27?..

p.s. always use the lates version for testing - nobody will fix old versions
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
VBM
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:01 pm

Re: KVM and virtual Mikrotik problem

Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:37 am

yes i tried but when i bught license for MT version was 3.23 and now when i try to update to 3.27 or any other MT hangs at i can update to 3.24 only (dunno why)

Booting from Hard Disk...
Loading system with initrd
Starting...
Checking disk integrity...
No errors found.

Starting services...

and thats all...
 
User avatar
lan
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:06 pm
Location: Verona italiy
Contact:

Re: KVM and virtual Mikrotik problem

Sun Aug 09, 2009 12:39 pm

Hi.
same problem... for the "starting services" -m pentium2
and go..

ethernet freeze today :(
Everyday is a school day
Giuseppe M.
Irpinia Net-Com C.T.O.
Wisp and network consulting
http://www.irpinianetcom.it
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: KVM and virtual Mikrotik problem

Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:42 pm

I also got it working by only setting the -cpu switch set to anything except qemu64. It looks like qemu64 is the default. BTW, that's a capital -M. Lowercase -m sets the memory allocation.
Doug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests