Community discussions

 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:12 am

If i set the memory of a Metarouter with Openwrt more than 128Mbytes, shell doesn't come up after booting.

All the boot messages are shown properly and i can see that memory has been recognized by the system, but you can not get in to shell anymore by pressing enter.

Any thoughts on that?

Gokalp
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:48 am

with OpenWRT image from wiki i have no problems running it in metarouter with that amount of memory assigned to it.
[admin@hs] /metarouter> print 
Flags: X - disabled 
 #   NAME               MEMORY-SIZE   DISK-SIZE     USED-DISK     STATE        
 0   mr1-RouterOS       32MiB         unlimited     602kiB        running      
 1   mr2-OpenWrt        128MiB        unlimited     5938kiB       running      
[admin@hs] /metarouter> console 1
[;24r
[Ctrl-A is the prefix key]



root@OpenWrt:/#  ls
bin     etc     kernel  mnt     rom     sbin    tmp     vstore
cm      home    lib     pckg    root    store   usr     www
dev     jffs    logs    proc    run     sys     var
root@OpenWrt:/# 

at least, if you have problems with that now, wait for release of RotuerOS 4.4
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:15 pm

Hi Janisk,

If you set the memory more than 128Mbyte, i.e. 129Mbyte, it will generate the problem.

I'll be happy if it is solved by the release of 4.4.

Thanks
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:23 am

have misunderstood you, well, 128MB works, 129 and up do not, currently check if you can run metarouter with max of 128MB of ram assigned.
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:25 pm

I can run Openwrt with 128MB without any problem in Routerboard 450G.

We also tried Openwrt on a x86 system with 256MB and it runs (bare-metal install, no virt.) without any problem.

Regards
Gokalp
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:52 am

x86 is not metarouter, it is either KVM or, erm now KVM :)

it is metarouter problem, we are looking into it.
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: No shell in Metarouter if memory is more than 128Mbytes

Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:08 pm

I'm trying to tell that Openwrt can work on another platform with 256MB without any problem.

The topic is related to Metarouter and yes i'm aware of that it has a problem with the given condition.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests