Community discussions

 
lopezandres
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:56 pm

XEN to KVM

Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:03 pm

Hi,
I cann't setup KVM on my PC-RouterOS:
Actually I'm using XEN for routeros image and wanto to migrate it to KVM, but I allaways get "status=unsupported-cpu".
I have enabled at BIOS the VT option.

Someone can help me please.

Can XEN and KVM running at the same time?

> > I'm using a PC with
> >
> > INTEL MotherBoard DG31PR
> >
> > CPU INTEL E8400
> >
> > 2GB RAM


> > [lopezandres@RT001] /kvm> print
> >
> > Flags: X - disabled
> >
> > 0 ;;; cantv kvm guest
> >
> > disk-images=hda:cantv.img initrd="" kernel=""
> >
> > kernel-cmdline="console=ttyS0" name="cantv" cpu-count=2
> > memory=256MiB
> >
> > snapshot=no vnc-server=0.0.0.0:0 state=unsupported-cpu
> >
> >
> >
> > [lopezandres@RT001] /system license> print
> >
> > software-id: "XXXX-XXXX"
> >
> > upgradable-to: v5.x
> >
> > nlevel: 5
> >
> > features:
> >
> >
> >
> > [lopezandres@RT001] /system resource> print
> >
> > uptime: 30m50s
> >
> > version: "4.3"
> >
> > free-memory: 1739444kB
> >
> > total-memory: 1790208kB
> >
> > cpu: "Intel(R)"
> >
> > cpu-count: 2
> >
> > cpu-frequency: 3000MHz
> >
> > cpu-load: 0
> >
> > free-hdd-space: 132009640kB
> >
> > total-hdd-space: 153818816kB
> >
> > write-sect-since-reboot: 4941
> >
> > write-sect-total: 4941
> >
> > architecture-name: "x86"
> >
> > board-name: "x86"
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: XEN to KVM

Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:12 pm

i have xen installed but when i do this

/kvm nothing

is this right how do i install or enable kvm
must i remove xen

i have x86
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
lopezandres
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: XEN to KVM

Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:03 pm

Thanks xezen.

So I have to unistall the XEN package and try to use KVM?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24199
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: XEN to KVM

Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:44 am

Make sure to remove Xen first, and then check if you have VT enabled in your BIOS. VTx is needed by KVM. Your CPU supports it, but it must be enabled.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests