Page 1 of 1

XEN to KVM

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:03 pm
by lopezandres
Hi,
I cann't setup KVM on my PC-RouterOS:
Actually I'm using XEN for routeros image and wanto to migrate it to KVM, but I allaways get "status=unsupported-cpu".
I have enabled at BIOS the VT option.

Someone can help me please.

Can XEN and KVM running at the same time?

> > I'm using a PC with
> >
> > INTEL MotherBoard DG31PR
> >
> > CPU INTEL E8400
> >
> > 2GB RAM


> > [lopezandres@RT001] /kvm> print
> >
> > Flags: X - disabled
> >
> > 0 ;;; cantv kvm guest
> >
> > disk-images=hda:cantv.img initrd="" kernel=""
> >
> > kernel-cmdline="console=ttyS0" name="cantv" cpu-count=2
> > memory=256MiB
> >
> > snapshot=no vnc-server=0.0.0.0:0 state=unsupported-cpu
> >
> >
> >
> > [lopezandres@RT001] /system license> print
> >
> > software-id: "XXXX-XXXX"
> >
> > upgradable-to: v5.x
> >
> > nlevel: 5
> >
> > features:
> >
> >
> >
> > [lopezandres@RT001] /system resource> print
> >
> > uptime: 30m50s
> >
> > version: "4.3"
> >
> > free-memory: 1739444kB
> >
> > total-memory: 1790208kB
> >
> > cpu: "Intel(R)"
> >
> > cpu-count: 2
> >
> > cpu-frequency: 3000MHz
> >
> > cpu-load: 0
> >
> > free-hdd-space: 132009640kB
> >
> > total-hdd-space: 153818816kB
> >
> > write-sect-since-reboot: 4941
> >
> > write-sect-total: 4941
> >
> > architecture-name: "x86"
> >
> > board-name: "x86"

Re: XEN to KVM

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:12 pm
by xezen
i have xen installed but when i do this

/kvm nothing

is this right how do i install or enable kvm
must i remove xen

i have x86

Re: XEN to KVM

Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:03 pm
by lopezandres
Thanks xezen.

So I have to unistall the XEN package and try to use KVM?

Re: XEN to KVM

Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:44 am
by normis
Make sure to remove Xen first, and then check if you have VT enabled in your BIOS. VTx is needed by KVM. Your CPU supports it, but it must be enabled.