Community discussions

 
lucien
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:58 am

unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:00 pm

I've been trying to install centos as a guest on Mikrotik. I tried on v 3.24 where i got the guest running but the console view was not working. i therefore upgraded to v4.5 to enable vnc access but now i get the error unsupported-cpu. The cpu is a dual-core with sSpec number SLGTK. this cpu does support intel VT. Here are the setups:

#add name=centos cpu-count=2 disk-images=hda:Elastix-1.6.0-i386-bin-29Oct2009.iso vnc-server=0.0.0.0:2 memory=512

To which i get :

Flags: X - disabled
0 disk-images=hda:Elastix-1.6.0-i386-bin-29Oct2009.iso initrd="/boot/initrd.rgz" kernel="/boot/vmlinuz" kernel-cmdline="" name="centos" cpu-count=2 memory=512MiB snapshot=no vnc-server=0.0.0.0:2 state=unsupported-cpu


Could anyone please help me

Thank You
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:05 pm

you should look in your BIOS and see if you can enable the VT feature. iF there is no such option, you should upgrade the BIOS
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lucien
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:58 am

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:37 pm

Thank You for the prompt reply. I have enabled VT in the BIOS yet still get the message.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:38 pm

did you upgrade the BIOS? some earlier PCs have bad BIOS that don't work well with VT
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lucien
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:58 am

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:52 pm

Its a brand new intel motherboard and processor. but i'll check if an update is available.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:14 pm

you probably also have Xen package installed. If it is, it's disturbing the operation of KVM. You need to reinstall RouterOS to completely remove Xen, then your KVM will recognize VT and work
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lucien
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:58 am

Re: unsupported-cpu

Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:45 pm

xen was removed as of ver 4.4?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24191
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: unsupported-cpu

Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:36 am

yes, but it's not completely removed from your system, you must do a clean reinstall to get rid of it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lucien
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:58 am

Re: unsupported-cpu

Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:51 pm

Thanks Normis i found a bios update that allowed VT to be detected. now have new problem no keyboard or mouse in vnc. how do i specify the initrd and vmlinuz that came along with the distro as per post on centos and kvm earlier. do i copy it to the router and then specify the path to it. and if so where do i put it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests