Community discussions

 
crs
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:19 am

OpenWRT on RB1000 still in booting phase

Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:42 am

Hi.

I've created Metarouter using OpenWRT image from Mikrotik Wiki but it doesn't want to run. It's still in booting phase, even after long period of time. When connecting to its console there's no output. I've tried with compiled by myself OpenWRT image (from revision 18199) but without success. RouterOS is in version 4.6:
[] > /system package print
Flags: X - disabled
# NAME VERSION SCHEDULED
0 multicast 4.6
1 routing 4.6
2 routerboard 4.6
3 ups 4.6
4 hotspot 4.6
5 system 4.6
6 ipv6 4.6
7 calea 4.6
8 gps 4.6
9 ntp 4.6
10 advanced-tools 4.6
11 security 4.6
12 user-manager 4.6
13 ppp 4.6
14 dhcp 4.6
15 wireless 4.6
[] > /system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: "1000"
serial-number: "xxxxxx"
current-firmware: "2.20"
upgrade-firmware: "2.20"
Any idea what I can do to make it working? Thanks in advance for any reply.
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: OpenWRT on RB1000 still in booting phase

Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:42 pm

The supplied OpenWRT image works on the rb400 series boards I tried, which use mips-be cpu's. I assume that the OpenWRT patch is also for mips-be CPU's and not the PowerPC (PPC) cpu in the rb1000. Try the image in a mips-be powered routerboard to double check.
 
crs
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:19 am

Re: OpenWRT on RB1000 still in booting phase

Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:56 pm

Thanks roadrunner for answer. I don't have other RB to check if that image would work but it must be this reason. Anyway, few days ago on wiki page http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Metarouter appeared new images and new patch for OpenWRT sources. I downloaded tgz for PowerPC platform and imported metarouter from image. After a few seconds RB hanged and didn't want to get up, even after reboot. Unfortunatelly this RB is used in my company as a one of devices providing Internet connection :/ Yes, I know, I shouldn't experiment on production router but I thought that metarouter feauture is stable. Anyway I've configured other device as a router and connected RB to my workstation. The only way to contact this device was through serial port. I rebooted it and observed what is happening. There was message about booting and RB booted normally until login prompt appeared. After few seconds error message was displayed:
MikroTik 4.6
XXX Login: BUG(1): UNKNOWN instr 7cf7faa6 at 0x80000054!
pc=0xfff00e20 cpc=0xfff035f4 lr=0xfff00b50 ctr=0xfff00c7c
regs=0xfff07768 cr=0x85699622 xer=0x6000005a
r0=0x00000000 r1=0xfed71ef0 r2=0xa569962d r3=0x00000005
r4=0x80000054 r5=0x7cf7faa6 r6=0x00004000 r7=0xffffffff
r8=0x00000480 r9=0xfff00000 r10=0xfe826000 r11=0xfe826000
r12=0xa569962d r13=0x6996965a r14=0xa5e99e2d r15=0xe996965a
r16=0xfe826054 r17=0xfe826420 r18=0xfff06f70 r19=0xfff06f3c
r20=0xfff06ed4 r21=0xfff07428 r22=0xfe826780 r23=0x80000000
r24=0xfe826454 r25=0xfff07428 r26=0x00000000 r27=0x00000001
r28=0x00000000 r29=0x80000054 r30=0x80000054 r31=0x80000054
dear=0x300ce000 msr=0x00020000(00020000) esr=0x02000000
And I couldn't do anything. I had to reinstall system using Netinstall. After RB was operable I tried again to setup metarouter the same way as before but the effect was the same.

I reinstalled system once again and I build my own OpenWRT compilation from trunk and with use of provided patch (v1.2) (target system Metarouter PowerPC). I imported metarouter from this new image and I was observing what is happening on serial terminal. Few seconds after I initialized import similar error appeared on terminal window:
MikroTik 4.6
XXX Login: BUG(2): UNKNOWN instr 7cf7faa6 at 0x80000054!
pc=0xfff00e20 cpc=0xfff035f4 lr=0xfff00b50 ctr=0xfff00c7c
regs=0xfff07768 cr=0x9a9669d3 xer=0xa0000025
r0=0x00000000 r1=0xfed1fef0 r2=0x5a9669d2 r3=0x00000005
r4=0x80000054 r5=0x7cf7faa6 r6=0x00004000 r7=0xffffffff
r8=0x00000480 r9=0xfff00000 r10=0xfe80a000 r11=0xfe80a000
r12=0x5a9669d2 r13=0x966969a5 r14=0x5a9669d2 r15=0x966969a5
r16=0xfe80a054 r17=0xfe80a420 r18=0xfff06f70 r19=0xfff06f3c
r20=0xfff06ed4 r21=0xfff07428 r22=0xfe80a780 r23=0x80000000
r24=0xfe80a454 r25=0xfff07428 r26=0x00000000 r27=0x00000001
r28=0x00000000 r29=0x80000054 r30=0x80000054 r31=0x80000054
dear=0x806f52c4 msr=0x00020000(00020000) esr=0x02000000
I don't know... am I doing anything wrong or provided patch is not suitable for RB1000?

Please warn your customers on metarouter Wiki about possible serious problems while setuping new metarouter.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: OpenWRT on RB1000 still in booting phase

Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:57 am

install 4.7 on the router and try again. You should get other results that crashes.
 
balisteri
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 12:39 am

Re: OpenWRT on RB1000 still in booting phase

Fri Apr 01, 2011 4:47 pm

Hy guys,

I already build a new version of openwrt and i upload to routerboar rb1000 with router 5v.

Especially when I collected the packages I need in time he compiles the error.

In my case I try to compile the package freeradius and is giving error at the time of compiles.

I've installed all the packages needed to compile the firmware for the RB1000 but without success. Now for the RB433 board I managed to compile the firmware with freeradius and their modules and packages more quietly and smoothly and even have it running with the RB433 Mikrotik version 5.

Could someone give me some way please?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests