Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:38 pm



dear friends

what does this error mean ???


Image




http://i63.servimg.com/u/f63/12/33/78/59/prob10.jpg


and U look to the bottom of the interface on the pppoe page


u see 4 out of 7 why is that why there r 7

and just 4 user connected

?????

????
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error

Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:42 pm

It means that whatever processor you're running on doesn't support virtualization in hardware. KVM requires that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86_virtua ... re_support
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error

Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:32 pm

It means that whatever processor you're running on doesn't support virtualization in hardware. KVM requires that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86_virtua ... re_support

what should i do to solve this problem

change the CPU ??

or what
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:35 pm

You should change your processor to a virtualization supported one, i.e. VT supported Intel cpus.
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:55 pm

You should change your processor to a virtualization supported one, i.e. VT supported Intel cpus.

THANX dear for the answer

and the other thing >>>>?

what does it means ?
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error

Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:55 pm

It means that whatever processor you're running on doesn't support virtualization in hardware. KVM requires that.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86_virtua ... re_support

thanx bro
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:06 am

or just enable VT support in BIOS setup =)

the text in status bar says 'there are 7 interfaces on the router, 4 of them are ppp'
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 8:19 am

indeed, check if you ahve enabled virtualization in BIOS, check the page weather your CPU supports it if still no go, check if there is BIOS update that solves the problem.

Also, check if you do not have any XEN leftovers (see output on screen while booting, if there are a lot more stuff than usual messages, reinstall your router with cd-install or netinstall to reload clean RouterOS without XEN.

if you had xen on that router, then you definitely need to reinstall.
 
mostafaalsaady
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 7:39 pm
Location: IRAQ

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:11 am

indeed, check if you ahve enabled virtualization in BIOS, check the page weather your CPU supports it if still no go, check if there is BIOS update that solves the problem.

Also, check if you do not have any XEN leftovers (see output on screen while booting, if there are a lot more stuff than usual messages, reinstall your router with cd-install or netinstall to reload clean RouterOS without XEN.

if you had xen on that router, then you definitely need to reinstall.

dear i have intel core 2 due CPU with giga byte mother board I upgrade to

http://download.mikrotik.com/all_packages-x86-4.6.zip

and still there is the same error
LearnING MikrotiK
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCTCE
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:48 am

pleas see the wiki link posted in previously, find there your Core2 CPU to know for sure it is supported as Intel caused havoc with removing/adding features, including virtualization support. As result, you could buy seemingly more powerful CPU but end up without features you need. for example, Core 2 E6750 have virtualization support while Core 2 E7300 does not
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:02 pm

Yeh...

Ran in to THAT prob. last night with VM Ware as well..

Picked up a Dual core DL380 server CHEAP!!
64 bit Dual core CPUs, 2GB, 2SCSI drives Etc for $180

64Bit OS install just fine, VM Ware install and creates VM's fine..

BUT.. Cant install 64Bit VMs as the VT function is NOT present int the CPU / BIOS...

Guess it is a web server for this box...

Can't complaign tho... They left 3 $500 fibre channell cards in the server when they sent it... :lol: :lol:
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: what does this error mean ??? KVM Error + other thing

Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:25 pm

try your luck even more and check for new BIOS for the motherboard (that is, if CPU supports it). Upgrade might show you new sweet feature in BIOS menu

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests