Community discussions

 
leo101
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:43 pm

chance to run ROS4.10 in KVM

Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:57 pm

Hello

Is it possible to run ROS 4.10 (L4 or L5) in a KVM-Guest (server: SAS-raid/Debian-Linux) ?
When installation done; ROS don't start the demo-License (Message: "Demo license expired;
please reinstall.. STOP").
Consequently i have no change to get the software-ID/set the license for register... :(

Greetings
S.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: chance to run ROS4.10 in KVM

Mon Jul 05, 2010 2:43 pm

please provide run script of KVM guest with different setting of CPU type. -cpu ? for available entry list. Some will not work, some will, just try several.
 
leo101
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:43 pm

Re: chance to run ROS4.10 in KVM

Mon Jul 05, 2010 6:50 pm

please provide run script of KVM guest with different setting of CPU type. -cpu ? for available entry list. Some will not work, some will, just try several.
yes; with "qemu" and "686" run ROS 4.10. But the cpu was emulate (slow!); we here don't use the KVM-Hypervisor.
For example a old 3.0.24 ROS run with KVM-Hypervisor; but 3.0.27 or greater NOT (tested with Xeon E5520-R610 Dell-servers).


S.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: chance to run ROS4.10 in KVM

Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:22 am

as i said - play with -cpu setting and it will work. At least it is working for me. And setting you use depends on what CPU you are using. RouterOS with XEN was completely different animal.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest