Community discussions

 
mintoro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:50 pm

XEN on 3.30

Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:02 pm

Hello,

I know it sound crazy using 3.30 demo
but the old pc is Celeron without Intel-VT offcourse so must use xen

how to run ubuntu 10.04 server on it
i have create basic 4GB disk-image ubuntu 10.04 for KVM and it boot and run fine
and now i will use it for xen inside mikrotik
i download kernel and initrd from this
http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/dists/ ... tboot/xen/
its real headache the kernel won't start
i try debian kernel also not work
would you please test the kernel or if possible tell what is the problem with the kernel
thanks
m.
 
mintoro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:50 pm

Re: XEN on 3.30

Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:34 am

I clean the mbr, reinstall again 3.30 on single 80GB segate sata

this time i manage to run xen domu for Centos 5, Ubuntu Hardy, OpenSuse 11.1
yeah 3 OS , it network is fast ... very fast i got 200mbps more (less then 5minute tranfer 4.2GB OpenSUSE11.1 dvd iso betwen
opensuse <-> ubuntu and to mikrotik dom0 )

bridge 3 virtual interface and masquerade them for internet akses
install dhcp server on the bridge so 3 domu can get ip

here the odd thing !!!!!
i have 3 GB ram, but mikrotik only show around 1900MB (yeah 2GB max)
i specify ram
512MB for Ubuntu Hardy Heron
512MB for OpenSUSE 11.1
200MB for Centos (if i use 512MB it say "failed to setup vm")

the image is prepared using KVM inside linux on other machine first and then export the xen supported kernel and initrd and image file
to mikrotik using FTP.

TOOO BAD you guyz drop XEN support .... it fast..


m.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: XEN on 3.30

Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:36 pm

problem with XEN is that you have to have kernel to support XEN DOMX, on KVM on the other hand i can install windows :) Also, you have to have that virtualization support, meaning you have to have quite capable CPU at your hands, because virtualization eats away quite a chunk of performance. Sometimes it seems some are forgetting that last bit.

Oh and about memory, host system has to use some RAM, and RAM usage of XEN DomU is not completely transparent, and can use some amount more than specified.
 
mintoro
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:50 pm

Re: XEN on 3.30

Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:05 am

hello again,

yeah finally able to run Lucid Lynx inside XEN under mikrotik :)
I steal Suse 11 SP1 kernel from their Kernel Of the day
i think the only distro that has direct support forward port aka XENIFIED kernel is SUSE/OPENSUSE
try and it work so nicely
at first i wanna compile my own using suse sp1 source but, compile fail not finished, i dunno why :(
so i try extract the rpm with rpm2cpio and then use the kernel, initrd , lib/module etc etc copied to lucid domu

xen domu installation was really pain in the neck :P

janisk what xen version inside mikrotik 3.30 ???
it does not work with PV_OPS domu kernel
only work with xenified / forward port kernel, am i right ?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: XEN on 3.30

Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:29 am

yes, it only works with "XENified" kernels.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest