Community discussions

 
tombrdfrd66
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:09 am
Location: New Zealand

OpenVZ

Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:22 am

Does anyone have experience of running RouterOS in an OpenVZ container?
The more I know, the more I know I don't know.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: OpenVZ

Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:41 am

OpenVZ instances share kernels, like zones in Solaris. The kernel that is shared between all instances in a container needs to be patched for OpenVZ. Since that can't be done for RouterOS you can't run RouterOS in an OpenVZ container.
 
tombrdfrd66
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: OpenVZ

Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:51 am

you can't run RouterOS in an OpenVZ container.
Thanks.

Pity.

KVM is out because I don't have virtualised hardware. Xen seems to be out because a) Mikrotik have given up on it and, b) Ubuntu has given up on it. Now OpenVZ is out. Looks like I'm down to VBox or VMware.

Makes it easier, I suppose, like being able to have any colour Ford as long as it's black.
The more I know, the more I know I don't know.
 
alexturner
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:05 am

Re: OpenVZ

Sat Jan 01, 2011 4:18 am

Hey guys,

I'd really like to be able to do this for a new project i'm launching. Proxmox have written a kernel (pve) that runs in their own hypervisor, which runs KVM and OpenVZ containers simultaneously. If only Mikrotik would open up terminal access to the linux box. Would make my life easy...

Alex

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests