Community discussions

 
kikikis2001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:09 pm

KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:43 am

Hello, is it possible to instal on KVM Ubuntu 9.10. I've Mikrotik 5.0rc3 and 40GB SSD (x86). Mayby somebody could help me install Ubuntu:) I've read and found topic about CentOS.
I should first copy "ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso" on my SSD and in terminal write (in kvm):

add name=ubuntu cpu-count=2 disk-images=hda:ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso initrd="" kernel="" kernel-cmdline="console=ttySO" memory=1024MiB snapshot=no vnc-server=192.168.178.12:20 state=running

Is it OK? Best regards.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:21 am

you have to make file where you will install the ubuntu. you can achieve that by issuing - make-routeros-image command and creating image file of appropriate size, then add it to the configuration so virtual ubuntu can have its storage.
 
kikikis2001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:09 pm

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Mon Nov 22, 2010 4:22 pm

Hello, thank You for answer. I'm a beginner so please explain me better:) Please check my steps:
1. make-routeros-image file-name=ubuntu.img file-size=2048 (size 2gb)
2. copy ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso into Mikrotik files (like adding update files to Mikrotik)
3. add name=ubuntu cpu-count=2 disk-images=hda:ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso initrd="" kernel="" kernel-cmdline="console=ttySO" memory=1024MiB snapshot=no vnc-server=192.168.178.12:20 state=running

Could You explain me better what does it mean "add it to the configuration"?
Mayby I forget to add sth? Please help. Best regards.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Tue Nov 23, 2010 11:37 am

alter your disk-images value like that:
disk-images=cdrom:ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso,hda:ubuntu.img
 
kikikis2001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:09 pm

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:16 pm

Hello, thank You for answer. One more question: I should install "ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso" from cdrom (burn image on CD and insert to CD-ROM) or copy image to files in Mikrotik (without CD-ROM). I've disconnected CD-ROM from my computer:) I also understand that my steps are OK (after that I could connect by VNC and will have access by remote desktop)? No more steps are needed? Best regards.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:27 am

with label cdrom you tell kvm that you will be using iso image as cdrom and not as a normal storage disk drive. Things like read-only are set by default.

regarding files all you have to do is upload ISO/image file you want to install OS from, and make storage file that will be used as guest hard drive.
 
kikikis2001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:09 pm

Re: KVM + Ubuntu 9.10

Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:50 pm

Hello, thank You for help. I've created RouterOS image and run Virtual machine (status running, but first I have to change 192.168.178.12:20 on 192.168.178.12 (without 20) - because otherwise there was error "vnc cant bind") . Later I have added in KVM menu (I've installed today 5.0rc4 version of Mikrotik) VM interface (virtual machine=ubuntu, type= static, static=vif1 - I've created before Virtual ethernet "vif1"). As I described before status now is "running", but I can't connect to this VM. I've redirected port 5900 (udp and tcp) on address 192.168.178.12 (port 5900), but it don't helps. I've used in Mikrotik tool ping 192.168.178.12 and is OK (when I've set "dynamic bridge" in VM interface always was "timeout", so I've change to static Vm interface). Now, VNC always said to me "failed to connect: connection refused (10061)". Files: Iso with ubuntu and ubuntu.img are seen in files in Mikrotik (names are OK). What should I set more? Best regards.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest