Community discussions

 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

First Clue for learning on using KVM

Fri May 20, 2011 6:49 am

Hi guys, this is my first topic and my first post too.. :)

I'am interesting to learning this virtualization on mikrotik, because we can get some easiness to just have a one baremetal, to make more than one server. but I find some confuse to start learning this. I have dom with 4.11 installed on it, and have the baremetal too. maybe Can I have some clue to using this KVM. maybe on making the image of the OS to be installed to the kvm guest ??

thanks for your kindness.. :D
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5934
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Fri May 20, 2011 1:15 pm

You can start by reading KVM manual
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Kvm

There are step by step instructions how to make guest images, add KVM guests etc.
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue May 24, 2011 11:32 am

thanks for the clue. i'm starting to create the guest, but I ran into this
[admin@MikroTik] > kvm pr                                                      
Flags: X - disabled                                                            
 0   disk-images=hda:/sata1/ubuntu-10.10-server-i386.iso initrd="" kernel="" 
     kernel-cmdline="" name="ubuntuserver" cpu-count=2 memory=512MiB 
     snapshot=no vnc-server=192.168.3.2:10 state=failed 
[admin@MikroTik] >
if change the value of vnc-server to 0.0.0.0, the state is running. but when I give an IP address, state become failed. I found this too when I shut-down the guest and set the IP.. :?



Thank you :)
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Wed May 25, 2011 9:37 am

okay, the state is running, I was wrong to see the IP address of the server.. my mistake.. :shock:

but when I using the VNC viewer, It's failed to boot.. :(

edited :

fill the initrd and kernel with file from the guest OS.. it should solve the problem.. :)
Last edited by RexY on Thu May 26, 2011 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Wed May 25, 2011 10:43 am

Seems that now I can boot the ubuntu server : :D , but now the problem is that I can't mount the cd-rom when I try to install the OS.. someone can help ??

Thank's for your kindness.. :)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:33 am

you cannot mount CDROM, you should use ISO image of the CD you are trying to use and add it as cdrom:<iso image> where disk-images are configured
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:02 am

sorry for the long time to reply this topic.. thanks for the reply..

it seems that I can't detect the disks when I try to install the OS. It look's like this

Image

how can I use the HDD on my desktop ?? any clue ?? thanks by the way.. :D

P.S :
this is config for adding the VM :
[admin@MikroTik] > /kvm pr                                                     
Flags: X - disabled                                                            
 0   disk-images=cdrom:/sata2/ubuntu-10.10-server-i386.iso        
     initrd="/sata2/initrd" kernel="/sata2/vmlinuz" kernel-cmdline="" 
     name="ubuntuserver" cpu-count=1 memory=256MiB snapshot=no 
     vnc-server=192.168.3.1:10 state=running
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:07 pm

in RouterOS using KVM you cannot assign physical partitions/disks to virtual guest. You have to create file for that use.
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:27 am

thanks for the answer.

I found your post from another topic about kvm too, and you wrote this:
with label cdrom you tell kvm that you will be using iso image as cdrom and not as a normal storage disk drive. Things like read-only are set by default.

regarding files all you have to do is upload ISO/image file you want to install OS from, and make storage file that will be used as guest hard drive.
and i wanna ask something, how can I make the storage file ? did you mean by "make-router-image", or another command ?

thank you :)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:54 am

yes, with make-routeros-image. That is easiest way how to create file inside RouterOS.
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:56 am

thanks for the reply, seems that I can install the windows OS, and I can run it on VNC.
I install ubuntu server too, but when the OS need to restart, the state become failed. :(
I tried to edit the disk-image, change the value. the problem is, I can't do "save-and-quit".

I wanna ask, what is the shortcut for "save-and-quit" ?

thanks :)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:38 pm

if i understood you correctly, then that is 'Ctrl+o'
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:10 pm

yes that's what I mean. but it doesn't work. I tried all the keyboard button for the shortcut.. still I can't change the value.. :shock:
should I restart it or how? :?
 
RexY
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:27 am

Re: First Clue for learning on using KVM

Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:16 pm

I think I found the solution, I skip the cdrom boot process, so I can boot from the image file.. thanks for your support, sir.. :D

maybe I run some test first.. :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests