Page 1 of 1

mikrotik and elastix

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:56 am
by getonlove2
hello!!

i installed elastix iso that consists of centos 5.6 in mikrotik's kvm. and it is successfully running. but i was confused if it support dahdi hardware. since elastix needs dahdi hardware to connect to pstn lines.

Help!!!


:) :)

Re: mikrotik and elastix

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:14 am
by omega-00
I believe you're referring to a physical PCI card for connecting to PSTN lines yes?

If this is the case then you're not going to have much luck using KVM as there's no-way in the mikrotik implementation to configure hardware pass through to the virtual machines. It might be a better idea for you to run ESXi on the physical box then run both RouterOS and Elastix as vm's of the host machine.

Re: mikrotik and elastix

Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 12:42 am
by xbaha
==> you're not going to have much luck using KVM as there's no-way in the mikrotik implementation to configure hardware pass through to the virtual machines

can you explain why?

Re: mikrotik and elastix

Posted: Thu May 03, 2012 6:03 am
by omega-00
Because the mikrotik KVM implementation is limited on features; only what can be easily provided access via winbox/terminal is offered.
The only real virtual hardware option offered is the ability to create the virtual ethernet interfaces required for a machine to be able to connect out to the internet.

You can read more about the specifics of it here: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:KVM

Re: mikrotik and elastix

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:19 pm
by ericsooter
You would not have an easy way of connecting POTS lines without some sort of gateway device. But you could easily purchase sip trunks from a vendor such as phonebooth.com (no hardware needed). If you must have POTS line integration, you can get a VOIP gateway such as this: http://www.voipsupply.com/audiocodes-mp-118-fxo . But they are expensive and troublesome to configure. Although 8-port digium FXO cards are also pretty expensive.