Page 1 of 1

virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:02 am
by aacable
Its a good idea to virtualize various servers so underutilized hardware can be used more effeciently, as now a days, getting good hardware is not a big deal. It can save considerable amount of power consumption , reduce heat factor , easy to mange VM using various tools, live migrations, backup restore becomes very easy and the list goes on . . .

http://aacable.wordpress.com/2012/12/10 ... resources/

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:30 pm
by janisk
it is generally good idea. however you will get reduced performance compared to RouterOS running on bare metal.

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:50 am
by aacable
If good modern hardware is used, and software is configured correctly, then there will be no difference in most cases.
I have used 3 machines (1-Mikrotik + 2-Squid + 3-Radius )in one virtual server and tested few results and found it better then RB in most cases. Specially the
The hardware I used was.
IBM xSeries M4 Dual Processors with Quadx2 Cores/ 16GB Ram / Raid 10 / Gigabit network.

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:24 am
by ladeza009
Sir,

When installing the mikrotik v6.0rc11 in vmware 5.1, no drives found.

Any advice?

Please see attached.

Thanks,
Leon

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:38 am
by aacable
Try adding Hard drive as IDE in vm guest.

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
by ladeza009
Sir,

Still no harddrive found.

How to add the hard drive as IDE in guest OS?

Thanks,
Leon

Re: virtualizing Mikrotik + squid + Radius in one ESXi

Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:54 am
by ladeza009
Ok.now installing

Thanks