Community discussions

 
robinpecha
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:36 pm

How to check if I can run KVM in my ROS.

Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:35 am

Hi, I have ros with KVM package. I see KVM in menu but when I try "Make RouterOs image", pop up shows:
Couldnt start - this is not a host system (6).
Does it mean, that machine is not compatible with KVM virtualization???

And xen with pv isnt instalable on ros 6+ ?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How to check if I can run KVM in my ROS.

Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:20 pm

you need virtualization support from Intel or AMD in CPU and turned it on in the BIOS. you can check by using CPU number to see if it has such feature at all, if yes, check BIOS if it is turned on as usually virtualization support is turned off.
 
robinpecha
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:36 pm

Re: How to check if I can run KVM in my ROS.

Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:24 pm

Yes, I know how to check it on real machine.
I admin, my ros is running in virtual machine on VPS hosting. Hardware is compatible with virtualization, but KVM in KVM didnt work.
Isnt it?
 
robinpecha
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:36 pm

Re: How to check if I can run KVM in my ROS.

Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:28 pm

Maybe could be KVM removed/shaded in menu on machines which cant use them.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: How to check if I can run KVM in my ROS.

Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:46 am

my ros is running in virtual machine on VPS hosting
if this is true, you cannot run guests under RouterOS that is already a guest.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests