Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Hrobocop
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:07 pm
Location: Prague

LAG between CSS326 and Synology not at full speed?

Thu Apr 22, 2021 2:15 pm

Hi, just connected our new Synology 1821+ into CSS326-24G-2S+ via three 1gbit cables (3gbit toal).
Copying files from older Synology shich is connected via 2x 1gbit cable (2gbit total).

But speed is still like on 1gbit cable.
LAG is enabled and active on both Synology and Switch, new NAS is on ports 9/10/11, old NAS is on ports 13/14
When I check the speed, the traffic flows almost via only 1 cable of three (or two).

Is there anything else to config?

Thanks for help
Maxim
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
dadaniel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: LAG between CSS326 and Synology not at full speed?

Thu Apr 22, 2021 2:19 pm

But speed is still like on 1gbit cable.
When I check the speed, the traffic flows almost via only 1 cable of three (or two).
LAG only has effect when doing transfers from/to multiple hosts at the same time.
 
User avatar
Hrobocop
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:07 pm
Location: Prague

Re: LAG between CSS326 and Synology not at full speed?

Thu Apr 22, 2021 2:23 pm

Thank You dadaniel,

didn't know that, thats a quite important information.
So only workable solution is to connect both NAS units via SFP + optical cable, right?
 
dadaniel
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 11:51 pm

Re: LAG between CSS326 and Synology not at full speed?

Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:46 pm

yes, using the cheap copper SFP+ DAC cables will also work. They are available up to 10m
 
User avatar
Hrobocop
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:07 pm
Location: Prague

Re: LAG between CSS326 and Synology not at full speed?

Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:38 am

yes, using the cheap copper SFP+ DAC cables will also work. They are available up to 10m
Thanks dadaniel,
thank You a lot for help, I didn't know about this workaround.
BTW, just found those nicely priced SFP+/SFP+ cables:
MikroTik: https://mikrotik.com/products/group/int ... filter&s=c
Unifi: https://store.ui.com/collections/unifi- ... 0003951705

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests