Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
joshhboss
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:13 pm

Understanding how traffic travels through MikroTik on SWoS

Sat Jun 19, 2021 11:13 pm

so i was trying to simulate the network i will be working on for an event. and i have a cisco 3750 that has a vlan 400 that has public IPs i wanted to pass that vlan over to my mikrotik switch on also vlan 400. from the cisco to the mikrotik i have it as an access port. and on the mikrotik set to strict. untagged only and default vlan 400. and then from that switch to a router on another port with untagged only and default vlan 400.. now from that router i create multiple vlans and went back to the mikrotik.. (all over the place i know but ive had success with this setup) now.. when i try and link another cisco switch to that mikrotik to have ALL of those vlans brought over to the newly added switch past the mikrotik.. the internet completely goes out on vlan 400 and i get this error on the cisco 3750 (headend)
Jun 19 17:03:19.253: %SPANTREE-7-RECV_1Q_NON_TRUNK: Received 802.1Q BPDU on non trunk GigabitEthernet1/0/28 VLAN400.
Jun 19 17:03:19.253: %SPANTREE-7-BLOCK_PORT_TYPE: Blocking GigabitEthernet1/0/28 on VLAN0400. Inconsistent port type.
Jun 19 17:08:19.032: %SPANTREE-2-UNBLOCK_CONSIST_PORT: Unblocking GigabitEthernet1/0/28 on VLAN0400. Port consistency restored.
Jun 19 17:11:14.567: %SPANTREE-7-RECV_1Q_NON_TRUNK: Received 802.1Q BPDU on non trunk GigabitEthernet1/0/28 VLAN400.
Jun 19 17:11:14.567: %SPANTREE-7-BLOCK_PORT_TYPE: Blocking GigabitEthernet1/0/28 on VLAN0400. Inconsistent port type.
Jun 19 17:19:22.598: %SPANTREE-2-UNBLOCK_CONSIST_PORT: Unblocking GigabitEthernet1/0/28 on VLAN0400. Port consistency restored.
Jun 19 17:31:37.283: %SPANTREE-7-RECV_1Q_NON_TRUNK: Received 802.1Q BPDU on non trunk GigabitEthernet1/0/28 VLAN400.
Jun 19 17:31:37.283: %SPANTREE-7-BLOCK_PORT_TYPE: Blocking GigabitEthernet1/0/28 on VLAN0400. Inconsistent port type.
why are bpdu packets crossing through the mikrotik as if it isnt even there. i had to match the link between the mikrotik and the newly added cisco similar to as if the mikrotik wasnt even there.
ill post a picture to help explain what im going through.. hopefully i didnt do to bad.

Thank you!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
k6ccc
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 720
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:01 am
Location: Glendora, CA, USA (near Los Angeles)

Re: Understanding how traffic travels through MikroTik on SWoS

Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:43 pm

Your description and drawing don't match, so it's really hard to tell what you are trying to do.
RB750Gr3, RB750r2, CRS326-24G-2S (in SwitchOS), CSS326-24G-2S, CSS106-5G-1S, RB260GS
Not sure if I beat them in submission, or they beat me into submission

Warning: I know enough to be dangerous...

Jim
 
joshhboss
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:13 pm

Re: Understanding how traffic travels through MikroTik on SWoS

Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:12 pm

Your description and drawing don't match, so it's really hard to tell what you are trying to do.
i will post more pictures to help explain what im seeing going on. basically the mikrotik switch is inbetween to cisco switches.. but the cisco switches are behaving as if the mikrotik switch isnt even there. i normally only need to keep the two switches that are directly connected to each other with port consistency. but for some reason i need to match the downlink cisco to the uplink cisco connected by the mikrotik.. totally confused..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests