Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
7ion
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:07 pm

RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:34 pm

I have RB260GS that worked for a year. In one day, the switch has dropped all its smart features and turned into dumb switch.
I tried restore firmware thru TFTP and got interesting message in RouterOS log
feb/25 00:12:31 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 10.0.0.254 to 00:00:00:00:01:01 
The switch now have MAC address 00:00:00:00:01:01! Also, this action didn't help - switch is dumb as before.

How can it be possible and what I can do now?
 
tsvgos
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 9:09 pm

Re: RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:55 pm

How do you manage to run dhcp client on this hardware ?
 
7ion
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:07 pm

Re: RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:12 pm

It's recovery mode, as described here - https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS#Rei ... S_firmware
 
tradlost
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:32 pm

Any news on this issue? I have a GSP doing the same thing. Customer unpacked it and it never really worked getting into the interface. Well, the switch responds but presents a logout button and says "loading" until it times out.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:07 pm

I have a GSP doing the same thing. Customer unpacked it and it never really worked getting into the interface. Well, the switch responds but presents a logout button and says "loading" until it times out.
Well, this actually sounds like a different issue (not what OP complained about). This is likely a browser cache issue- I've seen similar problems when trying to access RB260GSP using a browser that was previously used to access a RouterOS (not SwOS) device on the same default IP address (192.168.88.1). Try clearing the browser cache, or use another browser or another (clean) browser profile.
 
gharris999
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: RB260GS turned into dumb switch

Tue May 02, 2017 4:30 pm

I have a handful of RB260GSs and GSPs that exhibit this exact problem. Clearing the browser cache or trying different browsers or hardware-resetting the switch doesn't help at all.

REALLY wish a MikroTik representative would chime in here and either acknowledge the problem or give us a proven-to-work fix.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests